Skip to main content

Accessibility Resources: Find Articles

Resources for persons with disabilities

Selected Articles are available for listening

EBSCO, Gale, ProQuest, and several other major databases have accessible features. These articles and abstracts are generally available in PDF and/or HTML. Many HTML articles have built in listening capabilities or may be read by read-aloud software.; The accessibility of the PDF articles depends upon how the company scanned the articles.

EBSCO - HTML articles in this database have read aloud features, but many articles are not available in this format. Since 2004, EBSCO has been using Optical Character;Reader (OCR) to make PDF articles ADA compliant.

Gale - some full-text articles have listening function.

ProQuest - contains many compliant PDF articles but older articles labeled as "Scanned image PDF" are not accessible.

Credo Reference - hyperlinks allow screen reader users to jump to main content..This database allows you to click on small or large font at the top of the page

JSTOR - image based PDFs are accessible with screen readers. Where tagging is not sufficient, manual tagging can be requested for a limited number of articles.

Lexis Nexis Academic - frames are complex.

netLibrary - difficult to use with a screen reader.

Selected Databases

More Database

Search for Journals A to Z

Find:

To find word variants, truncate using an *
(e.g. comput* returns results with computer, computing, etc.)

Limit Your Results

Google Scholar