Bridgewater State University and Maxwell Library invite you to celebrate Constitution Day on September 17th in honor of the day in 1787 when the Constitution of the United States of America was signed in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.
This MaxGuide provides resources for learning and teaching about the Constitution, its history, and some of the contemporary issues that surround its interpretation.
Constitution Day
Constitution Day
September 17, 2021
September 17, 2021
Explore the U. S. Constitution
- U.S. Constitution TranscriptFrom the National Archives
- U.S. Constitution OnlineExplore the Constitution by Article or Section
- U.S. Constitution (FoundingFathers.info)Read a transcript with embedded links
- Constitution AnnotatedThe Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation (popularly known as the Constitution Annotated) contains legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution, based primarily on Supreme Court case law.
- Constitution FactsIncludes interactive quizzes
- National Constitution CenterThe National Constitution Center is the first and only institution in America established by Congress to “disseminate information about the United States Constitution on a non-partisan basis in order to increase the awareness and understanding of the Constitution among the American people.”
Classroom Resources and Databases
- Constitution and the Bill of RightsResources from Gale U.S. History in Context database
- Political Database of the AmericasComprehensive tool for students and scholars alike on the governments of North, South, and Central America
- National Constitution Center: Educational ResourcesOffers a range of educational lessons for Constitution Day
- Annenberg Classroom: Resources for Excellent Civics EducationOffers a variety of educational resources for use in high schools, colleges and universities and by federal agencies on Constitution Day
Library Books and Videos on the Constitution
- Books about the U.S. ConstitutionBooks located in the Reference Collection and the General Collection
- Videos/DVDs about the U.S. ConstitutionAvailable for request at the Circulation Desk on the 1st floor
Related Documents and Resources
- Charters of Freedom: Constitution of the United StatesHistorical perspective on the U.S. Constitution from the National Archives
- Primary Documents in American History: United States ConstitutionFrom the Library of Congress
- United States ConstitutionGood introduction to the U.S. Constitution on Wikipedia
Check out these playlists from the Films on Demand Database: