QuickLinks
- A to Z Journal ListA to Z listing of print and electronic journals and newspapers
- Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery ServiceBSU faculty, librarians, administrators, students and staff may use Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery Services (ILL/DDS) to request materials not found in the Maxwell Library collections.
Selected Print Reference Resources
Selected Reference Collection titles related to the Earth Sciences. These titles are located in the Reference Collection on the first floor of Maxwell Library.
Encyclopedia of Earth Science by Call Number: Ref QE5 .K85 2005
Encyclopedia of PaleontologyCall Number: Ref QE703 .E523
Encyclopedia of Sediments and Sedimentary RocksCall Number: Ref QE471.2 .E53 2003
Ocean by Call Number: Ref G2800 .E24 2009
Selected Online Journals
Finding Books in the Maxwell Library
Circulating books in the G through GE call numbers can be found in the stacks on the Second Floor of Maxwell Library. Circulating books in the QC, QE, and S call number ranges above can be found in the stacks on the Third Floor of Maxwell Library. All Reference materials with these call numbers can be found in the Reference Department on the First Floor.
Books in Earth Sciences can be found under the following Library of Congress Call Numbers:
- G1‑922 - Geography (General)
- G1000‑3122 - Atlases
- G3160‑3171 - Globes
- G3180‑9980 - Maps
- GA101‑1776 - Cartography
- GB3‑5030 - Physical geography
- GB400‑649 - Geomorphology. Landforms. Terrain
- GB651‑2998 - Hydrology. Water
- GB5000‑5030 - Natural disasters
- GC1‑1581 - Oceanography
- GE1‑350 - Environmental sciences
- QC801-809 - Geophysics. Cosmic physics
- QE1-350.62 - Geology, General
- QE351-399.2 - Mineralogy
- QE420-499 - Petrology
- QE500-639.5 - Dynamic and structural geology
- QE521-545 - Volcanoes and earthquakes
- QE601-613.5 - Structural geology
- QE640-699 - Stratigraphy
- QE701-760 - Paleontology
- QE760.8-899.2 - Paleozoology
- QE901-996.5 - Paleobotany
- S590-599.9 - Soils. Soil science
Selected Databases
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive geoscience database. Bibliographic records included on the database are from journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Over 60,000 references are added to the GeoRef database annually.
- USGS Publications WarehouseQuick access to over 100,000 publications written by USGS scientist over the past 100+ years of the bureau.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for more than 850,000 records and open access full-text for nearly 13,000 records. Subjects include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
- A to Z Maps Online This link opens in a new windowThe world's largest subscription-based database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection every month.