MaxGuides: Biol 199 Professor Marintcheva: Home

Additional Help

Key Databases

Biological Science Collection [Proquest] This link opens in a new window
An index to articles from over 6,000 sources (journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, and selected books and patents) in the fields of biology and plant science.
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of journals relating to research and advances in science happening around the globe. Maxwell Library has access to the following collection: Health & Life Sciences Journals.
Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Full text for millions of articles from national and global publications as well as more than 200 experiments, projects, and top reference content. Showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
BioOne is a collection of electronic full text journals in the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. BioOne journals are published by scholarly societies, museums and other organizations.
Gale OneFile: Agriculture This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive view of agriculture and its related fields. Comprised of nearly 200 titles, researchers will have access to current and authoritative content that spans the industry -- from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
This free database contains more than 21 million citations for biomedical and genomic literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books.

Searching Databases

1, Each of these databases can be searched by using keywords (subject terms) that you type into search boxes
hiv or aids or acquired human immunodeficiency syndrome or human immunodeficiency virus

2. You may narrow the search down by adding another term(s) such as
pandemic or epidemic or outbreak

3. Then you can narrow your search by date

4. After narrowing your search down, click on the title of the articles to find more information about the article.

5. If the fulltext is available in pdf or htm, or linked fulltext; you can read it.(If the link says interlibrary loan it means that you will have to request that we try to get it from another library through our interlibrary loan services.)

Online Databases

These databases require a BSU login.

Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly. Gale's InterLink technology intelligently connects contextually-relevant results from your library's eBook collection on GVRL within articles in a user's search results. The Topic Finder tool adds power and depth to searches, allowing students to mine their search results and develop their research focus in ways never before available.
Nexis Uni (formerly: LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text for The Boston Globe 1980-present, New York Daily Times 1851-1857, New York Times 1857-present, and Wall Street Journal 1984-present.