Library Databases
- Criminal Justice Collection [Gale] This link opens in a new windowBrings together information on every major topic in criminal justice from more than 250 journals.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowIncorporates the content of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. More than 440 full-text journals, cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 670 journals, and 5,500 author profiles.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowMore than 320 full-text magazines and journals, 540,000 records, and coverage of more than 600 journals from around the world. Subjects include criminology, criminal justice, corrections and prisons, criminal investigations, forensic sciences and investigation, substance abuse and addiction, and probation and parole.
- Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts This link opens in a new windowA federally funded, open access resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. Includes summaries of more than 174,000 publications on criminal justice, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Topics include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice and victims of crime.
- Nexis Uni (formerly: LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Finding Books in the Maxwell Library
Books in Criminal Justice can be found under the following Library of Congress Call Numbers:
Circulating books in the BF, HM-HV, and K call number ranges above can be found in the stacks on the Second Floor of Maxwell Library. Reference materials with these call numbers can be found in the Reference Department on the First Floor of the library.
- BF: Psychology and Related Sciences
- HM: Sociology General and Theoretical
- HN: Social History & Conditions, Social Problems, Social Reform
- HQ: Family, Marriage, Women, Sexual Life
- HV: Criminology, Social Pathology, Social & Public Welfare
- K, KF, KFM: Law
(These suggested Library of Congress call numbers are for shelf browsing purposes only, and are by no means comprehensive.)
Subject Guide
Clement C. Maxwell Library
(508) 531-2893
More library resources
- Criminal Justice MaxGuideMore resources for researching topics in the field of Criminal Justice.
- Evaluating WebsitesGuidelines to help you determine whether a website is credible.
How do I find an article if I have a citation?
When you have a list of references you can use the MaxSearch Discovery tool to find the articles cited. Simply type the name of the article into the search box.
If you do not get the results you need you can request the article through Interlibrary loan. Login with your BSU username and password and follow the prompts to request an article. You will be notified by e-mail when the article is available.