Finding Books
You can search by title, author, subject, or keyword.
Books located in the General Collection are located on the 2nd and 3rd floors and can be checked out.
Maxwell Library uses the Library of Congress classification system. The first letter of the call number will help you to determine where to find your book. Those with call numbers that start with the letters A-L are on the second floor; those that start with M-Z are on the third.
Finding Articles
There are many other databases that might be appropriate to your assignment that are not shown here. Ask a librarian if you need assistance finding articles.
Many, but not all, articles you find in the databases will have the full text attached to them. Use the "Full Text Finder" link to see if the article is available.
- Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 70 journals and 15 books, and all of the indexing available in EconLit. Subjects include capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, and urban economics.
***Limited to 1 user at a time. - ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new windowProvides access to thousands of journals relating to research and advances in science happening around the globe. Maxwell Library has access to the following collection: Health & Life Sciences Journals.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowMaxwell Library has access to more than 3,500 journal titles across the following five collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, and Ecology and Botany I. Subject coverage includes mathematics, philosophy, anthropology, economics, history, literature, population studies, sociology, music, art, law, education, business, botany, and ecology.
- Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new windowIncludes approximately 440 journals covering topics in gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
- Diversity Studies Collection [Gale] This link opens in a new windowMore than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily, exploring cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
Subject Guide
Clement C. Maxwell Library
(508) 531-2893