Welcome
This guide is an introduction to some of the library resources available for research fon WWI Please feel free to contact me if you need assistance. Individual, or group, research appointments can be made by calling me at (508) 531-1740 or through this form.
Reference Resources
The Marshall Cavendish Illustrated Encyclopedia of World War I by Call Number: Reference - 1st Floor D522.5 .M39 1984- The United States in World War I byCall Number: Reference D570 .S45
Find Journal Articles using Databases
T
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowThe premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly. Gale's InterLink technology intelligently connects contextually-relevant results from your library's eBook collection on GVRL within articles in a user's search results. The Topic Finder tool adds power and depth to searches, allowing students to mine their search results and develop their research focus in ways never before available.
- Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- America: History and Life (with Full Text) [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes nearly 200 journals and 100 books, selective indexing for over 1,700 journals, and abstracts in English of foreign language articles.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowIncludes approximately 26,000 video titles and more than 250,000 video segments covering a broad range of subject areas including humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, and medicine.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 540 journals and 140 books, indexing of historical articles from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages, and searchable cited references for more than 500 journals. Coverage dates back to 1953, with some coverage for titles back to the early 20th century. Subjects include world history, military history, women’s history, history of education and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowMaxwell Library has access to more than 3,500 journal titles across the following five collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, and Ecology and Botany I. Subject coverage includes mathematics, philosophy, anthropology, economics, history, literature, population studies, sociology, music, art, law, education, business, botany, and ecology.
- Military and Intelligence Database Collection This link opens in a new windowMore than 16 million articles covering all aspects of the past and present military affairs, including subjects such as governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for nearly 700 journals, 330 reference books, and 47,000 conference papers covering political topics with a worldwide focus. Subjects include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations, and political theory.
- Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new windowWorld History in Context provides information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in world history over 5,000 years from antiquity to the present and geographically around the world from reference books, journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.
Looking for a particular article?
You can determine whether Maxwell Library subscribes to a particular journal with the A-Z journal list which lists all of our print and electronic subscriptions.
If you need an article from a journal to which we do not subscribe, you may request it through Interlibrary loan.
