Home - POLI - Legislative History - Serra - MaxGuides at Bridgewater State University

Start searching

Web resources courtesy of your government.

Congress.gov
Full-text legislative history information for the 101st-118th Congresses is available. Summary information is available for the 93rd-100th Congresses. The database is searchable by bill number, keyword, sponsor or date and also includes Public Laws, budget and appropriations information, the US Code, and the Congressional Record.
GovInfo
From the United States Government Publishing Office
US Government Accountability Office
Includes government reports, and appropriations information.

Print and online resources - some of these require a BSU login.

United States Code Service
Codified law, organized by subject into chapters, called Titles, includes four-volume index. The U.S. Code Service is available online. Also available on the Reference shelves: REF KF 62 1972 L38 and through Lexis Nexis (see link below). Use the U.S. Code service to find the public law number of a bill or law.

Nexis Uni (formerly: LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Includes Washington Post, The New York Times, and other national and local newspapers. Also includes Congressional Testimony. Select "A Publication" from the Guided Search Box. Next, enter your search terms in the "Search for Something Specific?" box. Then type CQ Congressional Testimony in the publication box.
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,600 scholarly journals. HeinOnline provides topic specific databases including all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law, and Women and the Law among others. Full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase is included.
Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of CQ Weekly; National Journal, and many other periodicals.
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes full text of The Boston Globe, and The Wall Street Journal
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Includes CQ News and CQ Today