How do I obtain an article if I have the citation?
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowA freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
You can enter the title of a journal article into GoogleScholar to find out if it is available in Maxwell Library, and get a direct link to it.
- Apartheid: Lingering IssuesAn introduction from Global Issues in Context.
- ApartheidResources from World History in Context.
Maxwell Library, Room L109
Find Articles in Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- Biography in Context This link opens in a new windowMore than 650,000 biographical articles of international figures from every time period and area of study. Content is searchable across more than 170 titles, videos, audio selections, images, and articles.
- Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new windowMore than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily, exploring cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowIncludes approximately 26,000 video titles and more than 250,000 video segments covering a broad range of subject areas including humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, and medicine.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowThe premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly. Gale's InterLink technology intelligently connects contextually-relevant results from your library's eBook collection on GVRL within articles in a user's search results. The Topic Finder tool adds power and depth to searches, allowing students to mine their search results and develop their research focus in ways never before available.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 540 journals and 140 books, indexing of historical articles from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages, and searchable cited references for more than 500 journals. Coverage dates back to 1953, with some coverage for titles back to the early 20th century. Subjects include world history, military history, women’s history, history of education and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowMaxwell Library has access to more than 3,500 journal titles across the following five collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, and Ecology and Botany I. Subject coverage includes mathematics, philosophy, anthropology, economics, history, literature, population studies, sociology, music, art, law, education, business, botany, and ecology.
- Nexis Uni (formerly: LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text for nearly 700 journals, 330 reference books, and 47,000 conference papers covering political topics with a worldwide focus. Subjects include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations, and political theory.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowAn interdisciplinary collection of more than 650 high quality, peer reviewed journals designed for institutions acquiring extensively in the humanities and social sciences.
- Rand Daily Mail, 1902-1985 This link opens in a new windowThe Rand Daily Mail, published daily in Johannesburg, is a critically important title that pioneered popular journalism in South Africa. It is renowned today for being the first newspaper to openly oppose apartheid and contribute to its downfall. Complete, fully searchable digital edition featuring every page of every issue.
- Salem History This link opens in a new windowOnline access to the following series published by Salem Press: Decades (8 volumes 1920s-1990s), Encyclopedia of American Immigration, Great Athletes, Great Events from History (3 volumes), Great Lives from History (6 volumes), Historical Encyclopedia of American Business, and Milestone Documents (2 volumes).
- All AfricaAggregates, produces, and distributes 900 news and information items daily from over 150 African news organizations and its own reporters to an African and global public.
- African Activist Archive ProjectRecords of activism in the United States to support the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s.
- Baileys African History ArchiveHolds 40 years of material from all the editions of Drum Magazine and it's various sister publications - Golden City Post, Trust, True Love and City Press. Contains a wealth of information from politics to culture and complexities of the vast Anglophone African nations.
- South Africa: Overcoming Apartheid, Building DemocracyFirst-hand accounts of this important political movement. Includes interviews with South African activists, raw video footage documenting mass resistance and police repression, historical documents, rare photographs, and original narratives.
- University of Cape Town Libraries Digital CollectionsSelection of material available through UCT’s archival holdings, primarily held in UCT Libraries Special Collections, but also gathered through academic field recordings, primary data collation and UCT departmental collections.
- Digital Innovation South AfricaResources on the socio-political history of South Africa from 1950-1994.
- Forward to FreedomArchives of the British Anti-Apartheid Movement
- Historical Papers Research ArchiveFrom the University of Witwatersrand, Johannesburg
- DPLA - Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new windowNearly 17 million digitized items from libraries, archives, museums, and open access online resources. Brings together different viewpoints, experiences, and collections in a single platform and portal, providing open and coherent access to our society’s digitized cultural heritage.