E-books
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowAn online reference library, contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopaedia, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range or subject-specific titles.
- eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIncludes searchable full text for several thousand eBooks on a variety of subjects.
- Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Selected Books
Reference books are located on the first floor of Maxwell Library.
Dance and Gender by Call Number: GV1588.6ISBN: 9780813062662Publication Date: 2017"
Making Dances That Matter by Call Number: GV1785.H267ISBN: 9780819575654Publication Date: 2019
The Oxford Handbook of Dance and Wellbeing by ISBN: 9780199949298Publication Date: 2017
Library Catalog
Steps to Finding Books
- Search Maxwell Library's online catalog. If we don't own the book you want, then:
- Search the Massachusetts Virtual Catalog. If the book you want is in the catalog request it and have it sent to Maxwell Library. If the VC doesn't have the book you want:
- Request the book through Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery Services. .
- You can also search for books in Google Books or WorldCat. If you identify titles in either one that you're interested in, you can then obtain them using steps 1-3.
- Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery ServiceBSU faculty, librarians, administrators, students and staff may use Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery Services (ILL/DDS) to request materials not found in the Maxwell Library collections.
Searching the Library Catalog Tips
Some suggested call numbers:
- GV561-GV1198: Sports
Some suggested subjects (do a SUBJECT search for these, rather than a keyword search):
- African American Dance
- Ballet
- Dance
- Modern Dance
- Tap Dancing
Locating Items in Maxwell Library
- Reference materials and audio CDs can be found on the 1st floor of Maxwell Library.
- Books in the A-L call number ranges are located on the 2nd floor of Maxwell Library.
- Books in the M-Z call number ranges are located on the 3rd floor of Maxwell Library.
- DVDs are located on the first floor of the library near reference.
How to Obtain Books from Other Libraries
- Commonwealth Catalog and Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery ServicesBSU faculty, librarians, administrators, students and staff may use Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery Services (ILL/DDS) to request materials not found in the Maxwell Library Collection.
Library users may use the Commonwealth Catalog to request books directly from participating Massachusetts libraries.