Finding criticism in magazines and journals
Depending on the story, criticism can be located by using magazines and journals. Reviews of short story collections can be located in newspapers as well.
Selected Databases
To locate criticism, there are several databases to try.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowAlthough MLA International Bibliography is not a full-text database, there are some full-text articles, links to full-text articles, and a link to "Full Text Finder," which will provide further information as well as a link to InterLibrary Loan. This database also includes chapters in books and dissertations. You can narrow to the source type you wish to search. Put title of short story in quotes. If you are looking for scholarly criticism from academic journals (peer reviewed), click on this option on the search page.
Example: "the horse dealer's daughter" - Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowFull text database, plus you can select to search only academic (peer reviewed) journals.
- Gale Academic OneFile Select (formerly Expanded Academic ASAP) This link opens in a new windowFull text database, plus you can select to search only academic (peer reviewed) journals.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowGood source for literary criticism; includes peer reviewed criticism.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowGood source for literary criticism; includes peer reviewed criticism.
- Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new windowLiterary Reference Center may not include scholarly criticism on the story you are searching for. It is not the best source for college level work.
- Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new windowLiterary Criticism Online is the web version of certain Gale publications, including Short Story Criticism.
