This guide is intended to help you get started finding resources for researching languages, and linguistics.
Selected Web Resources
Free, internet-based resources
- EthnologueAn encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world’s 7,000+ known living languages
- MLA Language MapBased on data collected in the 2000 census this site provides maps of languages spoken in the United States by county or zip code.
- FSI Language CoursesFree language lessons developed by the Foreign Service Institute for over forty languages.
- World Oral Literature ProjectPrimary and secondary source documents related to the scholarship of oral traditions worldwide.
- Center for Open Educational Resources and Language LearningLinks to resources for teaching a variety of languages and language assessment.
- LangMedia: Resources for World LanguagesTeaching and learning materials, and cultural information for many of the lesser studied languages.
- DW: Learn GermanGerman lessons from Deutsch Welle for all levels of learners.
- National Diet Library (Japan)English language page of Japan's national library.
These databases require a BSU login.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowReferences for articles from professional journals in modern languages and literatures. For 299 of these journal titles, full text is available.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA full-image collection of retrospective issues from scholarly journals of prime importance in their fields. Subject coverage includes mathematics, philosophy, anthropology, Asian studies, economics, history, literature, population studies, and sociology (from the Arts & Sciences I Collection)
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowThe premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly. Gale's InterLink technology intelligently connects contextually-relevant results from your library's eBook collection on GVRL within articles in a user's search results. The Topic Finder tool adds power and depth to searches, allowing students to mine their search results and develop their research focus in ways never before available.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference service features full-text, aggregated content from more than 260 reference titles from 55 publishers, with nearly three million entries covering every major subject. Content includes encyclopedias, atlases, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and subject-specific works. Additional key features include customizable, dynamic data tables; tens of thousands of images; audio pronunciation files; over 90,000 atlas images of places and geographic features.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of digitized films. Click on "Humanities and Social Sciences" to see a list of films by language, on the bottom, right-side of the screen.
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,600 scholarly journals. HeinOnline provides topic specific databases including all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law, and Women and the Law among others. Full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase is included.
These books can be found in the Reference Department on the first floor of Maxwell Library.
- International encyclopedia of linguistics byCall Number: P29 .I58 2003
- The dictionary of historical and comparative linguistics byCall Number: P143 .T727Publication Date: 2000
- A dictionary of linguistics & phonetics byCall Number: P29 .C65 2008
- Encyclopedia of Communication Theory byCall Number: P87.5 .E496 2009
- The linguistics encyclopedia byCall Number: P29 .L52 2002
These resources require a BSU login.
Clement C. Maxwell Library
Clement C. Maxwell Library
Mon - Thur.: 7:30 am – 11:45 pm
Fri.: 7:30 am – 5:00 pm
Sat.: 8:30 am – 4:00 pm
Sun.: 12pm – 10:00pm