Selected Web Resources
Free, internet based resources
- EthnomedFrom the University of Washington Harborview Medical Center information on cultural beliefs and medical issues relevant to recent immigrants
- Southern Poverty Law CenterThe SPL is a "civil rights organization dedicated to fighting hate and bigotry"
- National Council on DisabilityPolicies, programs and reports from the federal agency.
- Diversity, Equity, and InclusionDefinitions, resources, and other information.
- Media Diversity InstituteMedia Diversity Institute (MDI) works internationally to encourage accurate and nuanced reporting on race, religion, ethnic, class, disability, gender and sexual identity issues in media landscapes around the world. While our work is grounded in the principles of freedom of expression and values of diversity and inclusion, our day-to-day work focuses on cultivating practical skills to combat negative stereotypes and disinformation and improve media and information literacy.
- On Common GroundFrom the Pluralism Project of Harvard University - focus is on religious diversity in the United States.
- Civil Rights History ProjectFrom the Library of Congress. Oral histories, photographs, videos
- Pew Research Center Hispanic Trends ProjectStatistics, news and other data about the Hispanic population in the United States.
To assist in finding journal and periodical articles - these require a BSU login.
- Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new windowMore than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily, exploring cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA full-image collection of retrospective issues from scholarly journals of prime importance in their fields. Subject coverage includes mathematics, philosophy, anthropology, Asian studies, economics, history, literature, population studies, and sociology
- Religion and Philosophy Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new windowThis database provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, religious history, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. The database contains more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles.
- Ageline This link opens in a new windowIndex for over 200 sources containing information related to gerontology and aging.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA general-interest academic database which features full text for over 2,300 scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals as well as abstracts and indexing for many additional titles. This includes the full-text of the Chronicle of Higher Education.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowThe premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly. Gale's InterLink technology intelligently connects contextually-relevant results from your library's eBook collection on GVRL within articles in a user's search results. The Topic Finder tool adds power and depth to searches, allowing students to mine their search results and develop their research focus in ways never before available.
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,600 scholarly journals. HeinOnline provides topic specific databases including all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law, and Women and the Law among others. Full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase is included.
Selected topics from the New York Times