Find Journal/Magazine Articles Using Databases
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowAn all-encompassing database with journal articles, podcasts, transcripts, and more.
- Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowA general-interest database with thousands of scholarly articles.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowUseful for education on social justice issues.
- Nexis Uni (formerly: LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new windowContains decades of newspaper articles and legal documents.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowIncludes many articles on social justice politics and economics.
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowContains hundreds of journals, reference books, and conference papers on political science.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowContains books, essays, and other documents on women's activism in the United States.
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,600 scholarly journals. HeinOnline provides topic specific databases including all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law, and Women and the Law among others. Full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase is included.
Encyclopedias and Other Reference Resources
- The 100 Greatest Americans of the 20th Century: A Social Justice Hall of FameThe 100 Greatest Americans of the 20th Century, offers a colorful and witty history of the most influential progressive leaders of the twentieth century and beyond, is the perfect antidote.
- The A to Z of Corporate Social ResponsibilityA complete reference on corporate social responsibility, compiled by the Institute for Corporate Cultural Affairs in 2007.
- Culture Wars: An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and VoicesAddresses the key defining issues of contemporary American society through the lens of political and social controversy; includes entries on abortion, the environmental movement, gay rights, illegal aliens, and much more.
- Dictionary of Environmental Science and TechnologyIncludes in-depth entries on scientific and technical terminology associated with sustainability issues, including environmental protection and resource management.
Welcome!
Welcome to the Social Justice Resources MaxGuide.
Here you will find research materials and links to information on social justice issues. If you need further research help, do not hesitate to stop by or call the Maxwell Library Reference Desk at (508) 531-1394.
Selected Titles from Webster
The reproach of hunger : food, justice, and money in the 21st century by
Call Number: HD9000.5 .R53 2015Transformation now! toward a post-oppositional politics of change by
Call Number: HQ1190 .K398 2013Fair trade from the ground up : new markets for social justice by
Call Number: HF1379 .L563 2012Publication Date: 2012Planning as if people matter : governing for social equity by
Call Number: JK468.P64 B736 2012
Against Common Sense: Teaching and Learning Toward Social Justice by Call Number: LC213.2.K86 2009
Human Trafficking by Call Number: HQ281 .C85 2009
Infectious Ideas: U.S. Political Responses to the AIDS Crisis by Call Number: RA643.83 .B75 2009eb
The Global New Deal: Economic and Social Human Rights in World Politics by Call Number: JC571 .F424 2010
The War on Welfare: Family, Poverty, and Politics in Modern America by Call Number: HV91 .C4513 2010Deadly injustice : Trayvon Martin, race, and the criminal justice system by
Call Number: HV9950 .D425 2015Publication Date: 2015
Public Online Resources
- Human Rights WatchOne of the world’s leading independent organizations dedicated to defending and protecting human rights.
- Amnesty InternationalA worldwide movement of people who campaign for the international recognition and respect of human rights.
- Invisible ChildrenOne of the leading non-profit organizations battling the use of child soldiers.
- National Organization for WomenResources and advocacy on a range of women's issues.
- Gapminder - Global Indicator StatisticsAllows the comparison of countries by displaying charts and maps for some 500 indicators (relating to health, income, education, the environment, and more).
- Change.orgStart, join, and win campaigns for social change by creating or signing online petitions for national and international issues.
- Social Justice Organizations - GuideA guide for social justice organizations in the United States.
- Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights, and LaborFrom the U.S. Department of State. This site includes Country Reports for Human Rights Practices
- The ArchivePrimary source materials from the Martin Luther King Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change
- This I BelieveBased on the 1950s radio program, this site brings together thousands of essays on the core values of people from all walks of life.
- AlertNetHumanitarian aid sites, country profiles, information on human rights issues, current events.
- Social Progress IndexMeasures noneconomic data of well being (e.g. food security; maternal death rates) of 133 countries