Web Resources
- Talking About RaceFrom the National Museum of African American History and Culture
- The North StarPublication of activist Shaun King
- M4BLMovement for Black Lives
- Know Your RIghtsInformation for protesters from the ACLU
- Behind the Veil: Documenting African American Life in the Jim Crow SouthA digital project from Duke University
- For Our White Friends Desiring to Be AlliesInformation from the Sojourners
- Ten Ways to Fight HateFrom the Southern Poverty Law Center
- Anguish and ActionInformation and resources for taking action
- Racial Justice SyllabusFrom Duke University Press
- ACTION: Racial Justice and Equity at BSUAction: Racial Justice and Equity at BSU is designed to provide tangible examples of how the university is working to advance the cause of racial justice and equity through its commitment to implementing the recommendations from the Special Presidential Task Force on Racial Justice.
- BIPOC ProjectBlack, Indigenous, and People of Color Moverment
- JuneteenthWebsite to be launched on June 19, 2020 to commemorate the 155th anniversary of Juneteenth
Selected Databases
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window More than 320 full-text magazines and journals, 540,000 records, and coverage of more than 600 journals from around the world. Subjects include criminology, criminal justice, corrections and prisons, criminal investigations, forensic sciences and investigation, substance abuse and addiction, and probation and parole.
- Criminal Justice Collection [Gale] This link opens in a new window Brings together information on every major topic in criminal justice from more than 250 journals.
- Criminology: a SAGE Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new window Content not current. Full-text Access to legacy journals only. More than 25,000 articles in 38 peer-reviewed journals, with access back to 1999. Subjects include corrections, criminal justice, family and domestic violence, forensic psychology, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, penology, and policing.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window Covers today's hottest social issues, offering differing views to help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.
- Diversity Studies Collection [Gale] This link opens in a new window More than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily, exploring cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
- Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window More than 650,000 biographical articles of international figures from every time period and area of study. Content is searchable across more than 170 titles, videos, audio selections, images, and articles.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly. Gale's InterLink technology intelligently connects contextually-relevant results from your library's eBook collection on GVRL within articles in a user's search results. The Topic Finder tool adds power and depth to searches, allowing students to mine their search results and develop their research focus in ways never before available.
- Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Selected Reference Books
African American Lives by Call Number: E185.96 .A446 2004The Greenwood encyclopedia of African American literature by
Call Number: PS153.N5 G73 2005Publication Date: 2005Historical dictionary of African American television by
Call Number: PN1992.8.A34 F43 2014Publication Date: 2014Icons of African American literature : the Black literary world by
Call Number: PS153.N5 I33 2011Writing African American women : an encyclopedia of literature by and about women of color by
Call Number: PS153.N5 W756 2006Publication Date: 2006
Other Library Resource Guides
Books to Check Out
How to Be an Antiracist by Call Number: E184.A1 K344 2019
Stamped from the Beginning by Call Number: E185.61 .K358 2016The New Jim Crow : Mass Incarceration in the age of Colorblindness by
Call Number: HV9950 .A437 2010Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption by
Call Number: KF373.S743 A3 2014Between the World and Me by
Call Number: E185.615 .C6335 2015Experiencing Racism : Exploring Discrimination through the Eyes of College Students by
Call Number: LC212.2 .S45 2009Reproducing Racism: How Everyday Choices Lock in White Advantage by
Call Number: E184.A1 R4467 2014The wrong complexion for protection : how the government response to disaster endangers African American communities by
Call Number: HV555.U6 B846 2012How ethical systems change : lynching and capital punishment by
Call Number: HV9950 .E45 2012
Rethinking Prison Reentry by Call Number: HV9469 .G37 2014
The Hate U Give by Call Number: JUVFIC T454414h
Citizen by Call Number: PS3568.A572 A6 2014
I Am Your Sister by Call Number: PS3562.O75 I3 2009
Slave Patrols by Call Number: E443 .H33
Police in a Multicultural Society by Call Number: HV8143 .B27 2018
Video
Selected video from Films on Demand. You can search for more here.
- Jena 6 In a small-town Jena, Louisiana, six families are fighting for their sons' lives. Two nooses are left as a warning to black students trying to integrate their playground, fights break out across town, a white man pulls a shotgun on black students, someone burns down most of the school, the DA puts six black students on trial for attempted murder, and the quiet town of Jena becomes the site of the largest civil rights demonstration in the South since the 1960s. This film presents the story of racial inequality and violence, once hidden and now becoming painfully apparent. It is a powerful symbol for, and example of, how racial justice works in America—where the lynching noose has now been replaced by the DA's pen. Contains mature subject matter. Viewer discretion is advised. (29 minutes) - Description from Films on Demand
- Anatomy of Hate: A Dialogue for Hope To make this film, director Michael Ramsdell spent six years among organizations that define themselves in ideological opposition to other groups, sometimes with extreme hatred. As he spent time with white supremacists, Muslim extremists, militant fundamentalist Christians, participants on both sides of the Palestinian-Israeli conflict, and American combatants in Iraq, he began to unravel the mystery of the anatomy of hate. The resulting documentary mixes profoundly disturbing footage of racist and antigay tirades with interviews from sociologists and neuroscientists who explain the psychological—rather than political or religious—mechanisms that make people take violent action against other groups. Throughout the film, stories of redemption told by former hate group members prove that inner change is possible. While the film can be difficult to watch, it should prompt thoughtful discussion in sociology, psychology, anthropology, and political science classes. Some content may be objectionable. Contains harsh and inflammatory language. (88 minutes) - Description for Films on Demand
- Banished Between 1860 and 1920, hundreds of U.S. counties expelled their African-American residents. The pattern was horrifically similar in almost all cases: a black man was accused of assaulting a white woman, was lynched, and then white rioters attacked black neighborhoods with guns and firebombs. After blacks fled for their lives, whites illegally assumed ownership of the abandoned property. This program places these events in the context of present-day race relations by visiting towns in Georgia, Missouri, and Arkansas where banishments took place. As black and white citizens warily explore the idea of reparations and reconciliation, the film reveals that even one hundred years later these communities tend to uphold the legacy of racial segregation. (84 minutes) - Description from Films on Demand
- Black Hollywood: Blaxploitation and Advancing an Independent Black Cinema This 1984 feature documentary explores the role of black actors, black directors, and the black audience in American movies. Lorenzo Tucker, known as the Black Valentino, discusses his career with Oscar Micheaux. Joel Fluellen and Vincent Tubbs tell memorable stories of what life was like for the few blacks working in Hollywood in the 50s and 60s including Dorothy Dandridge. Also included are interviews with Diahnne Abbott, Rosalind Cash, and Alfre Woodard, who talk about negative stereotyping. Jim Brown, Vonetta McGee, and D'Urville Martin come up with alternative solutions to the one-way street that was "blaxploitation" and discuss new ways of advancing an independent black cinema. Included is a marvelous speech by Sidney Poitier on accepting the Black Hall of Fame "Oscar.” Grandmaster Flash and his "Message" is the theme tune and the writer Oscar Williams holds the whole show together with his advice to the creative outsider. (75 minutes)
- Erasing Hate Violent skinhead Bryon Widner’s face, neck, and hands were covered with intimidating tattoos before he began the lengthy process of having them removed. But tattoo removal was just the outward sign of an inner transformation. Bryon had been an active and particularly vicious member of the white supremacist movement for 16 years—one of his tattoos signified a willingness to kill for the Aryan race—until meeting his wife and having a change of heart. This program follows Bryon and his family through the painful laser treatments as his journey from runaway teen to extremist skinhead to soul-searching family man is revealed. Discussing why they left Hammerskin Nation and the death threats they still receive, the Widners provide viewers with an inside look at the world of white power hate groups. Contains harsh and inflammatory language. (92 minutes) - Description from Films on Demand
- Mississippi Cold Case: Solving a Murder from the Civil Rights Era In the summer of 1964, two black teenagers, Charles Moore and Henry Dee, were found murdered in Louisiana. The atrocity was soon eclipsed by the Mississippi Burning case and forgotten. Forty years later, Moore’s brother Thomas and CBC documentary filmmaker David Ridgen reignited a quest for justice. This award-winning film documents their investigation, which included the remarkable discovery that one of the suspects—a Ku Klux Klansman named James Ford Seale, presumed to have died years earlier—was in fact alive. Viewers will learn how the efforts of Moore and Ridgen led federal authorities to reopen the case and, after a legal roller-coaster ride, secure an indictment, a trial, and a conviction. Original CBC broadcast title: Mississippi Cold Case. Some language may be offensive. (45 minutes) - Description from Films on Demand
- Moyers & Company: The United States of Ferguson In the wake of decisions by grand juries in both Missouri and New York’s Staten Island not to indict white police officers in the deaths of unarmed African-Americans, this edition of Moyers & Company is an encore broadcast of Bill’s conversation earlier this year with journalist Ta-Nehisi Coates, a senior editor for The Atlantic, about his cover story “The Case for Reparations” about why America needs to reconcile with its racist past. Broadcast Date: December 5, 2014. - Description from Films on Demand
- Remembering Rodney King Rodney King, whose 1991 videotaped beating by Los Angeles police launched a public dialogue about race relations in the United States, died at age 47. NewsHour correspondent Jeffrey Brown, Patt Morrison of The Los Angeles Times, and Darnell Hunt of the University of California, Los Angeles, discuss his complicated life. Original broadcast date: June 18, 2012. (7 minutes) - Description from Films on Demand
