MaxGuides: OER Service: College of Science and Mathematics

Science and Mathematics

Open Textbook Library - Computer Science & Information Systems
These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization. CC BY 3.0
InTech - Computer & Information Science
nTech publishes more than 2,300 open textbooks and 6 journals in a variety of subjects that fall under the heading of science, technology, and medicine. Licenses vary. Verify individual items.
College Open Textbooks - Computer Science
College Open Textbooks is the initiative of a number of organizations who have made it their goal to provide free, open source textbooks online for students. Licenses vary. Verify individual items.
Bookboon.com - IT & Programming
Bookboon.com contains free eBooks and textbooks that can be downloaded as a pdf, no registration needed. These books cannot be altered, but can be freely printed, shared, or embedded in non-commercial ways. They are intended only for individuals, colleges, and schools. Site-Specific Licensing
Open Culture Free Computer Science Textbooks
Free textbooks (aka open textbooks) written by knowledgeable scholars are a relatively new phenomenon. Below, find a meta list of Free Computer Science Textbooks, part of our larger collection 200 Free Textbooks: A Meta Collection. Also see our online collection, 1200 Free Online Courses from Top Universities. Licenses vary. Verify individual items
MIT Open Courseware - Computer Science
MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity. CC BY-NC-SA 3.0
Computational Science Education Reference Desk
The Computational Science Education Reference Desk (CSERD) is a Pathways portal of the National Science Digital Library and funded by the National Science Foundation. CSERD aims to help students learn about computational science and to help faculty and teachers incorporate it into the classroom. Site-specific license.

MERLOT Biology Materials
MERLOT II is a program of the California State University, in partnership with educational institutions, professional societies, and industries to provide a database of more than 40,000 materials related to a wide variety of subjects.
College Open Textbooks - Biology & Genetics
College Open Textbooks is the initiative of a number of organizations who have made it their goal to provide free, open source textbooks online for students.
Licenses vary. Verify individual items.
InTech Life Sciences Books
InTech publishes more than 2,300 open textbooks and 6 journals in a variety of subjects that fall under the heading of science, technology, and medicine.
Licenses vary. Verify individual items

Applied Math & Science Education Repository - Chemistry
AMSER (the Applied Math and Science Education Repository) is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use. AMSER is funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) as part of the National Science Digital Library, and is being created by a team of project partners led by Internet Scout. Licenses vary. Verify individual items.
Chemical Education Digital Library
The Chemical Education Digital Library (ChemEd DL) is a storehouse of tested digital resources for education in the chemical sciences. Our aim is to be the place on the Web where you can contribute, share, organize, and use high quality chemistry education materials.
PhET Interactive Simulations
Founded in 2002 by Nobel Laureate Carl Wieman, the PhET Interactive Simulations project at the University of Colorado Boulder creates free interactive math and science simulations. PhET sims are based on extensive education research and engage students through an intuitive, game-like environment where students learn through exploration and discovery.
These simulations are free for instructors to use, distribute, and modify - even in commercial ways. Attribution must be given to the original source, however.
Bookboon.com - Chemistry Books
Bookboon.com contains free eBooks and textbooks that can be downloaded as a pdf, no registration needed. Site-specific license.
College Open Textbooks - Chemistry
College Open Textbooks (COT) focuses on textbooks for lower division classes. COT is not a repository of open textbooks; our listings point to textbooks on many repositories. Licenses vary. Verify individual items.
InTech - Chemistry Books
InTech publishes more than 2,300 open textbooks and 6 journals in a variety of subjects that fall under the heading of science, technology, and medicine. Licenses vary. Verify individual items.
MIT Open Courseware - Chemistry
Massachusetts Institute of Technology is one of the forerunners in open courseware, making "virtually all MIT course content" available online for public access. CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
Open Education Consortium - Chemistry
The Open Education Consortium in collaboration with MERLOT offers a search engine on OER (Open Educational Resources). OER are openly licensed online educational materials that allow teachers and students to freely use, share, and modify. Licenses vary. Verify individual items.

OER Geology Textbooks from OER Commons

AMSER (Applied Math and Science Education Repository) - Geology

Physical Geology

A comprehensive introductory text on the physical aspects of geology, including rocks and minerals, plate tectonics, earthquakes, volcanoes, glaciation, groundwater, streams, coasts, mass wasting, climate change, planetary geology and much more.
Geology
An online course in geology taught using a mastery approach.
Historical Geology
This book explains how it is even possible to reconstruct the history of the earth from data that is available in the present. Emphasis of the book is methodological and explains how it is known rather than what is known.
Laboratory Manual for Introductory Geology
This textbook is a comprehensive lab manual for the core curriculum Introductory Geosciences classes with both informational content and laboratory exercises. Topics include basic laws and theories in Geology, the Earth's interior and plate tectonics, water and climate change, igneous rocks and volcanoes, and earthquakes.

Open Textbook Library - browse geography books
Includes books that have been vetted/reviewed by faculty covering diverse business topics: management, business ethics, marketing, accounting, and statistics, as well as texts for introductory courses.
Open Geography Education

OpenStax - Math
Open source textbooks that are written by professional content developers who are experts in their fields and undergo a rigorous peer review process. All textbooks meet standard scope and sequence requirements.
Open Textbook Library - Mathematics & Statistics
The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks. The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network. Licenses vary. Verify individual items.
Bookboon.com - Statistics & Mathematics
Bookboon.com contains free eBooks and textbooks that can be downloaded as a pdf, no registration needed. These books cannot be altered, but can be freely printed, shared, or embedded in non-commercial ways. They are intended only for individuals, colleges, and schools.
College Open Textbooks - Math
College Open Textbooks (COT) focuses on textbooks for lower division classes. COT is not a repository of open textbooks; our listings point to textbooks on many repositories. Licenses vary. Verify individual items.
Orange Grove - Mathematics
Florida’s digital repository for instructional resources, which includes a collection of open textbooks on a variety of subjects. Licenses vary. Verify individual items.
MIT Open Courseware - Mathematics
MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity. CC BY-NC-SA 3.0
Applied Math & Science Education Repository - Mathematics
AMSER (the Applied Math and Science Education Repository) is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use. AMSER is funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) as part of the National Science Digital Library, and is being created by a team of project partners led by internet Scout. Licenses vary. Verify individual items.
PeET Interactive Simulations
Founded in 2002 by Nobel Laureate Carl Wieman, the PhET Interactive Simulations project at the University of Colorado Boulder creates free interactive math and science simulations. PhET sims are based on extensive education research and engage students through an intuitive, game-like environment where students learn through exploration and discovery. These simulations are free for instructors to use, distribute, and modify - even in commercial ways. Attribution must be given to the original source, however.

Open Textbook Initiative from the American Institute of Mathematics-

Mathematics open textbooks, many of which are free to use. All the books have been judged to meet the evaluation criteria set by the AIM editorial board.

Bookboon.com - Physics Books
Bookboon.com contains free eBooks and textbooks that can be downloaded as a pdf, no registration needed. Site-specific license.
College Open Textbooks - Physics
College Open Textbooks (COT) focuses on textbooks for lower division classes. COT is not a repository of open textbooks; our listings point to textbooks on many repositories. Licenses vary. Verify individual items.
ComPADRE
The AAPT ComPADRE Digital Library is a network of free online resource collections supporting faculty, students, and teachers in Physics and Astronomy Education. Licenses vary. Verify individual items.
HippoCampus - Physics
Hippocampus offers educators a wide variety of multimedia content online, including videos, animations, and simulations. An additional feature offers educators the ability to create "playlists" for their students, which correlate specifically to their particular instruction material. Site-specific license.
InTech - Physics
InTech publishes more than 2,300 open textbooks and 6 journals in a variety of subjects that fall under the heading of science, technology, and medicine. Licenses vary. Verify individual items.
MIT Open Courseware - Physics
MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity. CC BY-NC-SA 3.0
OpenStax - Physics
Open source textbooks that are written by professional content developers who are experts in their fields and undergo a rigorous peer review process. All textbooks meet standard scope and sequence requirements.
Open Textbook Library - Physics
The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks. The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network.
PhET Interactive Simulations
Founded in 2002 by Nobel Laureate Carl Wieman, the PhET Interactive Simulations project at the University of Colorado Boulder creates free interactive math and science simulations. PhET sims are based on extensive education research and engage students through an intuitive, game-like environment where students learn through exploration and discovery. These simulations are free for instructors to use, distribute, and modify - even in commercial ways. Attribution must be given to the original source, however.