Where Do I Look for Peer-Reviewed Articles?
Most of our databases allow users to limit their searches to "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" journals. An alphabetical listing of the Library's databases is on the Library Home Page under Find; then Databases. Select a database to search, then limit the search by clicking on the check box that allows for limiting the search to scholarly (Peer-reviewed journals). Some advance searches allow you to limit your search to document type too.
Selected Databases
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowThe premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly. Gale's InterLink technology intelligently connects contextually-relevant results from your library's eBook collection on GVRL within articles in a user's search results. The Topic Finder tool adds power and depth to searches, allowing students to mine their search results and develop their research focus in ways never before available.
- Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- Ageline [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowBibliographic references and original abstracts for materials related to aging and middle age, from an interdisciplinary perspective of psychology, economics, sociology, gerontology, public policy, business, health and health care services, and consumer issues. Documents on health care and policy comprise about half the database. Document types include, journal articles, books, book chapters, reports, and government documents. Journal coverage includes research, professional and general interest titles.
- Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic Edition [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowFull-text, indexed and abstracted biomedical research journals covering a broad range of disciplines, including medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. More than 80 full-text journals. Includes peer-reviewed content and author-supplied abstracts.
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to 200 leading journals in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
More Database
- ERIC (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowAbstracts to journal articles as well as "grey literature" (pamphlets, conference proceedings, privately published papers) in the field of education. Via E*Subscribe, the full text of selected ERIC documents may be retrieved.
Dates of coverage: 1966- - Gale Academic OneFile Select (formerly Expanded Academic ASAP) This link opens in a new window(formerly Expanded Academic ASAP) covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. This resource for academic research integrates the full text of publications from across the disciplines and now includes vocational/technical titles used by community college students, filling a specific need for curriculum-oriented collections. Gale Academic OneFile Select provides indexing for more than 5,000 periodicals, more than 2,800 in full text without any embargo. The combination of full text for scholarly journals and selected general interest titles for smaller academic libraries is ideal.
- Health and Medicine This link opens in a new windowCreated specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals. Includes more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
- Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 300 journals and 260 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracting from 830 journals. Provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
- Nexis Uni (formerly: LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowOver 26 million references to journal articles in life sciences with concentration in biomedicine and citations from over 6,700 worldwide journals in 60 languages. Coverage dates back to 1809.
- Military and Intelligence Database Collection This link opens in a new windowMore than 16 million articles covering all aspects of the past and present military affairs, including subjects such as governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
- Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection This link opens in a new windowNearly 100 academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThe world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Includes nearly 4 million bibliographic records from more than 50 countries and indexing of more than 2,500 journals, 99% of which are peer-reviewed. Coverage dates back to the 17th and 18th centuries, with extensive coverage from the 1800s to the present. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA) and updated weekly.
- ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new windowProvides access to thousands of journals relating to research and advances in science happening around the globe. Maxwell Library has access to the following collection: Health & Life Sciences Journals.
- SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 650 journals and magazines, including more than 620 peer-reviewed journals and 320 non-embargoed journals. Covers a broad range of studies, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies, and social work. Abstracts date back to 1895.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowMore than 660 full-text journals, with coverage dating back to 1930. Includes abstracts for nearly 970 journals, and more than 3,800 detailed records for sports-related videos. Subjects include clinical specialties such as orthopedics, coaching and education, consumer health, exercise science and fitness, health education, nutrition, physical education, and physical therapy.
***Limited to four maximum users at a time.
Search for Journals A to Z
PHED511 Finding Research Articles
Evidence-based
Evidence-based is the practical application of the findings of the best available current research. The research should demonstrate a positive outcome for application. This assignment requires you to use scholarly/ peer-reviewed resources that are ten or less years old. Primary sources in physical education and exercise science often contain methods, (empirical studies, randomized control trials, clinical trials), results, and discussions.
Selected Journals
Journal Lists:
- A to Z Journal ListA to Z listing of print and electronic journals and newspapers