Why Do I Need Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) or Research Journals?
Scholarly or academic resources are periodical articles written by subject experts who have conducted research or experimentation in a specific field. Many are written by faculty members or other academicians, discussing topics of recent research. They are often reviewed, refereed or juried by other experts in the field. These articles often contain subject specific language or terminology, and footnotes and/or bibliographies. The journals are normally printed on non-glossy paper.
Peer-Reviewed: articles written by scholars and reviewed by their colleagues who provide feedback and commentaries to the author prior to publication.
Refereed: Similar to peer-reviewed articles except the author doesn't necessarily know who reviewed the submitted work.
They provide you with excellent information!
Chat with a Librarian
Education Research Databases
Use the following databases to find research and other articles on topics related to the discipline of education.
American Psychological Association (APA) Style Guides
- APA Style ExamplesSample citations and bibliographic entries
- APA Style HelpInformation from the APA website
- KnightCite Citation GeneratorFormats references with user-provided information.
Cornell Research Minutes: How to Identify Scholarly Journal Articles
Databases
These databases are available to Bridgewater State University affiliates. If you need assistance please contact a Reference Librarian.
- Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 180,000 articles in more than 100 journals, including all American Psychological Association (APA) published scholarly journals. Updated weekly.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 500 journals, covering a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences, and related disciplines. Subjects include anthropology, emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental processes, observational and experimental methods, and psychiatry and psychology.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThe world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Includes nearly 4 million bibliographic records from more than 50 countries and indexing of more than 2,500 journals, 99% of which are peer-reviewed. Coverage dates back to the 17th and 18th centuries, with extensive coverage from the 1800s to the present. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA) and updated weekly.
IS YOUR SOURCE CRAAP?
- CRAAP Test The CRAAP Test method helps you identify a credible source and also helps you evaluate sources to determine whether or not they are appropriate for your academic assignment.
Librarian
More Database
- Academic OneFile Select (formerly Expanded Academic ASAP) This link opens in a new window(formerly Expanded Academic ASAP) covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. This resource for academic research integrates the full text of publications from across the disciplines and now includes vocational/technical titles used by community college students, filling a specific need for curriculum-oriented collections. Gale Academic OneFile Select provides indexing for more than 5,000 periodicals, more than 2,800 in full text without any embargo. The combination of full text for scholarly journals and selected general interest titles for smaller academic libraries is ideal.
- Health and Medicine This link opens in a new windowCreated specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals. Includes more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
- Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 300 journals and 260 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracting from 830 journals. Provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
- Nexis Uni (formerly: LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowOver 26 million references to journal articles in life sciences with concentration in biomedicine and citations from over 6,700 worldwide journals in 60 languages. Coverage dates back to 1809.
- Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection This link opens in a new windowNearly 100 academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.
- ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new windowProvides access to thousands of journals relating to research and advances in science happening around the globe. Maxwell Library has access to the following collection: Health & Life Sciences Journals.
- SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 650 journals and magazines, including more than 620 peer-reviewed journals and 320 non-embargoed journals. Covers a broad range of studies, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies, and social work. Abstracts date back to 1895.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowMore than 660 full-text journals, with coverage dating back to 1930. Includes abstracts for nearly 970 journals, and more than 3,800 detailed records for sports-related videos. Subjects include clinical specialties such as orthopedics, coaching and education, consumer health, exercise science and fitness, health education, nutrition, physical education, and physical therapy.
***Limited to four maximum users at a time.