Supreme Court Rulings
The recent Supreme Court Ruling in Dobbs v. The Jackson Women's Health Organization effectively reversed the Roe v. Wade decision of 1973 clearing the way for individual states to limit or restrict abortion rights. You can find a history of Supreme Court rulings about reproductive rights here.
Books & Videos from our catalog
Books on the ethics of abortion can be found in the HQ 767 section. Books on the legal aspects of abortion can be found in KF 3771. Books on birth control and contraception can be found in HQ 766.5. Search the catalog for other topics.
- Abortion byCall Number: ebookPublication Date: 2020
- Before Roe v. Wade byCall Number: KF3771 .B44 2010Publication Date: 2010
- Birth Control: A Reference Handbook byCall Number: HQ763 .N498 2020Publication Date: 2020
- The Ethics of Abortion byCall Number: ebookPublication Date: 2011
- The Ethics of Abortion: When Does Life Begin?Call Number: evideoPublication Date: 2019
- A History of the Birth Control Movement in America byCall Number: ebookPublication Date: 2011
- Jane against the world : Roe v. Wade and the Fight for Reproductive Rights byCall Number: KF228.R59 B58 2020Publication Date: 2022
- Scarlet A: The Ethics, Law, and Politics of Ordinary Abortion byCall Number: HQ767.5.U5 W38 2019Publication Date: 2018
- The Turnaway Study : Ten Years, a Thousand Women, and the Consequences of having--or Being Denied--an Abortion byCall Number: HQ767.5.U5 F67 2020Publication Date: 2020
Bridgewater State University Resources
- Wellness CenterFor Health Services (including birth control) on campus call (508) 531-1252.
- Abortion InformationFrom the World Health Organization
- Birth Control InformationFrom Planned Parenthood
- How Roe got to be RoeFrom the Harvard Gazette
- Office of Violence Against WomenFrom the United States Department of Justice
Search Library Databases for More Information
Selected Topics Pages from Opposing Viewpoints in Context
- AbortionFrom Opposing Viewpoints in Context
- Birth ControlFrom Opposing Viewpoints in Context
- Reproductive RightsFrom Opposing Viewpoints in Context
- Rape and Sexual AssaultFrom Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Search library databases for more information.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new windowCovers today's hottest social issues, offering differing views to help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,600 scholarly journals. HeinOnline provides topic specific databases including all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law, and Women and the Law among others. Full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase is included.
- Religion & Philosophy Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 200 journals and magazines, more than 170 of which are peer-reviewed. Full-text coverage dates back to 1911. Subjects include world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.
- Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new windowIncludes approximately 440 journals covering topics in gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
- Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new windowIntegrates news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more in a single search; updated daily and offers 250 different country topic pages and more than 400 Issue pages. Global Issues Viewpoints contains more than 3,000 exclusive commentaries that provide background and guidance on significant topics.
- Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 300 journals and 260 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracting from 830 journals. Provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThe world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Includes nearly 4 million bibliographic records from more than 50 countries and indexing of more than 2,500 journals, 99% of which are peer-reviewed. Coverage dates back to the 17th and 18th centuries, with extensive coverage from the 1800s to the present. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA) and updated weekly.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Clement C. Maxwell Library