Skip to Main Content

Nutrition (and Health): Find Web Resources

A general guide for resources on Health and Nutrition

Anatomy

Associations & Organizations

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance
American College of Sports Medicine
American Council on Exercise
American Dietetic Association. Eat Right
American Heart Association
American Medical Association
The AMA's official Web page, which includes a directory of medical societies by state, press releases, and other medical resources on the Internet.
American Society for Nutrition.
Australian Institute of Sport
Baylor College of Medicine. Children's Nutrition Research Center.
Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs
Eat Right. American Dietic Association.
Rudd Center for Food Policy and Obesity.
Sport Science Organization
Tender Loving Canine Assistance Dogs, Inc.
Women's Sports Foundation
World Health Organization. Why Move for Health

Bridgewater State University.

BSU. Health and Kinesiology

Childhood Obesity in Massachusetts

Dietary Assessment

ChooseMyPlate
Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons
"Assessment Tools for Weight and Health Related Risk"
International Food Information Council.
Nutrition Assessment.
United States. National Agricultural Library. Dietary Guidance.
Dietary Assessment.
University of Sydney. Glycernic Index
Weight Management. Interactive Tools.

Diseases and Illnesses

HIV Treatment Guidelines
American Heart Association.
Diabetes Dictionary
From the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases.
FAS Community Resource Center.Fetal Alcool Syndrome Disorder.
HealthMap
Tracks outbreaks of infectious diseases worldwide.
International Diabetes Federation .Worldwide Toll of Diabetes
Massachusettts. COVID-19
U.S. Center for Disease Control. Cardiovascular Disease and Occupational Factors
U.S. Center for Disease Control. COVID-19
U.S. Center for Disease Control. FastStats - Diabetes
U.S. Center for Disease Control. Interactive Diabetes Data on Any Device
U.S. National Cancer Institute
U.S. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
U.S. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Disorders. Health Statistics
World Health Association. The Atlas of Heart Disease and Stroke
World Health Organization. Diabetes.

Doctors and Hospitals

American Board of Medical Specialties' CertifiedDoctor Verification
Search to see whether your doctor is certified by one of the 24 ABMS medical boards. You may also search for names of doctors in your area with particular specialties.
American Hospital Directory
The directory provides on-line data for over 6,000 hospitals.
Massachusetts Board of Registration in Medicine
Information on all licensed physicians in Massachusetts, searchable.

Drugs and Medicine

Education

Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs
Accredits programs representing 18 allied health professions recognizing over 1900 allied health education programs in more than 1300 institutions. These institutions include universities and colleges, academic health centers, junior and community colleges.

Fad Diets

Foods

General

Government Sites

Health

Joyce M. Merkel, M.S., R.D. ODS DSRP 2021 - Reading Materials and Resources

Herbs

Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center - About Herbs, Botanicals & Other Products
Review of herbal products, complete with references.

Mental Health

Healthline. Emotional & Mental Health Learning Center

Nutrition & Supplements

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. Eat Right
American Society for Nutrition
Ask the Dietitian
Baylor College of Medicine. Children's Nutrition Research Center.
College Athletes and Dietary Supplements
Consumer Lab
Consumer Lab
Consumer Reports. Food and Drink Product Reviews.
Department of Health & Human Services. Dietary Supplements
Department of Health & Human Services. Food and Drug Administration FDA
Examine
Food Data Central
Provide complete nutritional information: from the US Department of Agriculture's Nutrient Database.
Kids Health
Merck Manual
National Institute of Health. Dietary Supplement Label Database
efficacy
National Institute of Health. Dietary Supplements Fact Sheets
National Institute of Health. Office of Dietary Supplements.
National Institute on Drug Abuse
National Library of Medicine. Dietary Supplements Labels Database.
National U.S. NCCIH. Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
Natrual Medicines.NatMed PRo
NSF for Sport
Nutrition and Food Web Archive
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce
Sports nutrition Handouts
Sports Science Exchange
U.S. FDA. Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition
U.S. FDA. MedWatch
UN. FAO.Food and Nutrition in Numbers.
Uniformed Services University. Human Performance Research
Uniformed Services University. Operation Supplement Safety
United States. Pharmaceuticals.
University of Montevallo. EXNS 310 Sports Nutrition. Dietary Supplements.
University of Montevallo. EXNS 310 Sports Nutrition. Vitamins and Minerals.
USDA. National Agricultural Library. Food And Nutrition Information Center.
USDA Agricultural Research Service
We Test Your Trust. Informed Sport
A quality assurance program for sports nutrition
products; logo indicates that the product has been
tested for banned substances
World Health Organization

Regulatory Resources

Safety Resources

Statistics

Weight Loss

Wellness

Fast Food Explorer
The nutritional content of fast foods from various restaurants.
United States. CDC. FASTSTATS.
U.S. National Library of Medicine. Weight Control.

Last Updated: Dec 16, 2024 11:08 AM
URL: https://library.bridgew.edu/guides/health
Print Page

Subjects: Athletic Training, Health Education

Tags: Allied Health & Medial Sciences, health, mahpls, nutrition, physical_education