Communication Studies: Finding Films/Videos

Can I Stream.It is a free service created by Urban Pixels that allows you to search across the most popular streaming, rental, and purchase services to find where a movie is available.

The mission of The Academic Film Archive of North America (AFA) is to acquire, preserve, document, and promote academic film by providing an archive, resource, and forum for continuing scholarly advancement and public exhibition.

The AdViews digital collection provides access to thousands of historic commercials. AdViews is a collaborative project between the Digital Collections Program and the Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History, as well as a number of other groups, at Duke University. AdViews videos may be viewed in iTunes or at the Internet Archive.

Discover historic programs of publicly funded radio and television across America. A project of the Library of Congress and WGBH in Boston, the American Archive of Public Broadcasting preserves the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years.

The Archive of American Television has conducted over 850 oral history interviews (over 4000 hours) that chronicle the birth and growth of American TV History as it evolves. The collection covers a variety of professions, genres, and topics in electronic media history.

Collection totaling over 233,000 hours of programming. The Video Library records all three C-SPAN networks seven days a week, twenty-four hours a day. Programs are extensively indexed.

Cultural and Academic Films is a sub-collection of the Internet Archive’s Moving Images Collection.

Documentary Heaven allows searching and browsing of over 1,600 documentary films available on the Internet. Topics include science, history, politics, business, music and more. Videos are sourced from a variety of services, including YouTube.

Documentary films about American roots cultures streamed with essays about the traditions and filmmaking. The site includes transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites

The Internet Archive's Moving Images library contains almost 600,000 free movies, films, and videos. This library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.

Collection of official trailers, clips, and original videos