Communication Studies: Web Resources

Berkeley Advanced Media Institute is a center for digital media workshops and custom training programs. Career professionals from around the world choose Berkeley Advanced Media Institute’s programs to gain skills in digital media content production, multimedia storytelling, social media, data visualization, and digital publishing.

Advertising Age is the leading global source of news, intelligence and conversation for the marketing and media community.

Database of and index to audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, and other recorded media events.

From American Public Media: APM Reports strives to raise awareness, trigger debate and prompt positive change via non-partisan, independent investigative and documentary journalism.

Exceptional Design, Advertising, Illustration, Photography, Interactive and Typography, since 1959.

Online aggregator of stock footage databases, providing serious footage researchers with free access to a large roster of stock, archival and news footage indexes online.

Find information about almost any movie. This is a good source for finding credits.

MediaPost is an integrated publishing and content company whose mission is to provide a complete array of resources for media, marketing and advertising professionals.

Marketing research company Nielsen’s Top 10 lists are compiled on a weekly, monthly or quarterly basis. See what Americans are watching, reading, playing, browsing, buying, and more.

The Paley Center for Media, with locations in New York and Los Angeles, leads the discussion about the cultural, creative, and social significance of television, radio, and emerging platforms for the professional community and media-interested public.

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.

A magazine-styled website about contemporary culture and popular history, focusing on the history and power of popular culture and its intersection with business and politics.

RFE/RL journalists report the news in 23 countries where a free press is banned by the government or not fully established. We provide what many people cannot get locally: uncensored news, responsible discussion, and open debate.

This database collects many decades of high-impact, sometimes controversial, mostly U.S.-generated journalism that used undercover techniques. The site, designed as a resource for scholars, student researchers and journalists, collects some of the best investigative work going back almost two centuries.

A not-for-profit virtual professional association committed to enabling the effective use of new and evolving technologies to facilitate communication instruction, research, and criticism.

ASJA's mission is to be the voice and career resource for independent, entrepreneurial, professional nonfiction writers.

AAJA is a membership nonprofit advancing diversity in newsrooms, and ensuring fair and accurate coverage of communities of color.

The Association for Business Communication (ABC) is an international, interdisciplinary organization committed to advancing business communication research, education, and practice.

AEJMC is a nonprofit, educational association of journalism and mass communication educators, students and media professionals. The Association’s mission is to promote the highest possible standards for journalism and mass communication education, to cultivate the widest possible range of communication research, to encourage the implementation of a multi-cultural society in the classroom and curriculum, and to defend and maintain freedom of communication in an effort to achieve better professional practice and a better informed public.

The Association of Internet Researchers is a member-based, academic association dedicated to the promotion of critical and scholarly Internet research independent from traditional disciplines and existing across academic borders.

AWC is a professional organization that champions the advancement of women across all communications disciplines by recognizing excellence, promoting leadership and positioning its members at the forefront of the evolving communications era.

The Broadcast Education Association (BEA) is an international academic media organization, driving insights, excellence in media production, and career advancement for educators, students, and professionals.

The Eastern Communication Association (ECA) is a professional organization of scholars, teachers, and students of Communication Studies. Established in 1910, the ECA is the oldest professional communication association in the United States.

A non-profit, professional organization that promotes quality journalism worldwide.

ICA is an academic association for scholars interested in the study, teaching, and application of all aspects of human and mediated communication.

The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) is an organization of journalists, students and media-related professionals that provides quality programs and services to and advocates on behalf of black journalists worldwide.

The National Communication Association advances Communication as the discipline that studies all forms, modes, media, and consequences of communication through humanistic, social scientific, and aesthetic inquiry.

Founded in 1990, NLGJA is an organization of journalists, media professionals, educators and students working from within the news industry to foster fair and accurate coverage of LGBT issues. NLGJA opposes all forms of workplace bias and provides professional development to its members.

The National Press Foundation is a nonprofit whose primary mission is educating journalists on the complex issues of the day and training them on the latest digital tools.

The Society for Cinema and Media Studies is the leading scholarly organization in the United States dedicated to promoting a broad understanding of film, television, and related media through research and teaching grounded in the contemporary humanities tradition.

The SPJ is the nation’s most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior.