This guide is intended to help you do research for your Introduction to Public Speaking class. If you do not find what you need, or need additional assistance, please contact a reference librarian at (508) 531-1394 or e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org.
IS YOUR SOURCE CRAAP?
Some tips for searching these databases:
- Some, but not all, of the records will have the full-text of the article attached. Click "Full Text Finder", or "Find Full-text" to find out if we have the article available in another database.
- These databases require a BSU login.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowThe premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly. Gale's InterLink technology intelligently connects contextually-relevant results from your library's eBook collection on GVRL within articles in a user's search results. The Topic Finder tool adds power and depth to searches, allowing students to mine their search results and develop their research focus in ways never before available.
- Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowIncludes magazines, newspapers and journals from a wide variety of disciplines. You will also find some scholarly journals here.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new windowThis resource includes contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today’s social issues including pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews , periodical articles, statistical tables, charts and graphs, images, podcasts, and more than 700 Greenhaven Press, Gale, Macmillan Reference USA™, Charles Scribner’s Sons® and U•X•L titles.
- Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new windowGlobal Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Each of these gateway pages includes an overview, unique "perspectives" articles written by local experts, reference, periodical, primary source and statistical information.
- Nexis Uni (formerly: LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- News & Newspapers This link opens in a new windowIncludes The Boston Globe, The New York Times, and The Wall Street Journal.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowStreaming video on almost any topic.
- EBSCO Image Collection This link opens in a new windowPhotographs, maps, and more.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowNearly 3.5 million full text articles in 835 reference books from 108 publishers. Includes encyclopedias, atlases, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and subject-specific works.
- Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowIncludes 320 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research, including arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, library science, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, social science, and technology.
- More Library DatabasesClick here for a list of the other databases available through Maxwell Library
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,600 scholarly journals. HeinOnline provides topic specific databases including all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law, and Women and the Law among others. Full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase is included.
Mon - Thur.: 7:30 am – 11:45 pm
Fri.: 7:30 am – 5:00 pm
Sat.: 8:30 am – 4:00 pm
Sun.: 12pm – 10:00pm
Comm102 Public Speaking Tutorials
Opposing Viewpoints Tutorial
- Opposing Viewpoints Database