Skip to Main Content

Genealogy and Diaries: Diaries Online

Selected Books

Daughter of Boston : the Extraordinary Diary of a Nineteenth-century Woman
Call Number: General Collection PS1499.D83 A3 2005
Shadows on My Heart : the Civil War Diary of Lucy Rebecca Buck of Virginia
Call Number: General Collection E605 .B89
Stolen Voices : Young people's War Diaries, from World War I to Iraq
Call Number: General Collection HQ784.W3 S75 2006
Woman Who Mapped Labrador: The Life and Expedition Diary of Mina Hubbard
Call Number: General Collection F1137.H83 A3 2005

Civil War Diaries

Aquilla Standifird's Civil War Diary
Digital Library of Georgia.
Duke University. Civil War Women: Primary Sources on the Internet
Sallie Bingham Center
Morrisville State College Library. Letters, Diaries, Reminiscences, and Manuscripts
Pennsylvania Volunteers of the Civil War.
Providence College. The William E. Walsh Civil War Diary Collection
Stanford University. Diary of a Contraband.The Civil War Passage of a Black Soldier.
William B. Gould IV.
Three Years in the Saddle: a Diary of the Civil War
University of Delaware. Library. American Civil War Collections. Letters and Diaries.
University of Iowa Libraries. Civil War Diaries and Letters.
University of Notre Dame. Manuscripts of the American Civil War. Diaries & Journals.
University of Tennessee. The American Civil War Homepage.
SCOUT (Special Collections Online at UT)
SCOUT (Special Collections Online at UT) is your discovery portal for manuscripts and archives held at the UT Libraries’ Betsey B. Creekmore Special Collections and University Archives. Here you will find descriptions of our primary sources including papers, correspondence, photographs, film and video, print items, digital materials, objects, and more. (Please use OneSearch for Special Collections rare books, including artists’ books and University Archives books.
University of Virginia: Valley of the Shadow
Staunton, Virginia, and Chambersburg, Pennsylvania letters and diaries.

18th Century

Idaho State University Oregon Trail - Diaries
Library of Western Fur Trade Historical Source Documents
"Diaries, Narratives, and Letters of the Mountain Men"
Providence College. Diary of Colonel Israel Angell Commanding Officer, second Rhode Ilsand Regiment.

19th Century

Brigham Young University. Mormon Missionary Diaries.
Brigham Young University. Trails of Hope: Overland Diaries and Letters.
Digital Library of Georgia. Cornelius C. Platter Civil War Diary.
Harvard University. Martha Ballard's Diary
The Story of a Maine Midwife.
History of a Six Week's Tour through A Part of France, Switzerland, Germany and Holland.
"with letters descriptive of a sail round the Lake of Geneva, and of the glaciers of Chamouni (1817)"by Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley and Percy Bysshe Shelley
Library of Congress. California as I Saw It.
"First-person narratives of California's Early Years, 1849-1900"
Lowcountry Digital Library. Journals, Diaries and Travelogues
Massachusetts Historical Society. John Quincy Adams.
MMU and Chethams library. The Leech Family Diaries, 1837-1894
Ohio State University.Letters & Diaries.
Recollections of an Old Solider; The Life of Captain David Perry
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The Narrative of Bethany Veney: A Slave Women.
University of Iowa Libraries. Historic Iowa Children's Diaries.
University of Miami Libraries.The Alvan Stewart Papers
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Libraries. Mary Ames, 1831-1903: From a New England Woman's Diary in Dixie in 1865
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, Libraries. First-Person Narratives of the American South
University of Utah. American Westward Migration.
University of Wisconsin Digital Collections. Wisconsin Pioneer Experience
Utah State University. A Widow's Diary: The 1884–1896 Diary of Helen Mar

20th Century

Presidential

General

Brigham Young University. Mormon Missionary Diaries.
EyeWitness to History
"History through the eyes of those who lived it."
Gutenberg Project.
Library of Congress. American History.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries Colonial to 1950.
Women’s Travel Diaries
"omen's Travel Diaries by British and American women who documented their travels to places around the globe"
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories

Virtual Commons

Virtual Commons
Go to the Bridgewater Virtual Commons. Select across all depositories
and narrow the search to diaries.

Last Updated: May 1, 2024 11:16 AM
URL: https://library.bridgew.edu/guides/genealogy
Print Page

Subjects: Diversity Resources, History, U.S. Ethnic Studies

Tags: genealogy; heraldry; family; ancestors; massachusetts; diaries