Selected Books
A Genealogical Register of the First Settlers of New England, 1620-1675Call Number: Reference F3 .F23 1979- Heads of Families at the First Census of the United States Taken in the Year 1790: MassachusettsCall Number: Reference F69 .U52 1966
- History and Genealogy of the Mayflower Planters and First Comers ...Call Number: F68 .H649
How to Climb Your Family TreeCall Number: General CS16 .S858 1987- Mayflower Marriages : from the Files of George Ernest Bowman at the MassachusettsCall Number: Reference CS68 .R67
Genealogical Dictionary of Maine and New HampshireCall Number: Reference F18.N68
Online Catalog Tips
Some suggested search headings.
- Genealogy
- Biography
- Heraldry
Steps to Finding Books
- Search the Maxwell Library's online catalog. If we don't own the book you want, then:
- Search the Massachusetts Commonwealth Catalog. If the book you want is in the catalog, request it and have it sent to Maxwell Library. If the Commonwealth Catalog doesn't have the book you want:
- Request the book through Interlibrary Loan
- You can also search for books in Google Books or WorldCat If you identify titles in either one that you're interested in, you can then obtain them using steps 1-3.
- Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery ServiceUse this service to request access to resources not currently available within the Maxwell Library's collections for personal research.
Locating Items in Maxwell Library
- Reference materials and audio CDs can be found on the 1st floor of Maxwell Library.
- Books in the A-L call number ranges are located on the 2nd floor of Maxwell Library.
- Books in the M-Z call number ranges are located on the 3rd floor of Maxwell Library.
- DVDs are located on the first floor of the library near reference.
E-books
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles.
- eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSearchable collection of e-books and electronic content
- Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowA database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
