C&YA Lit Journals & Magazines

Not an exhaustive list.

Sources that contain primarily book reviews and those that focus mainly on scholarly or literary criticism are included.

(* recommended by BSU EECE faculty for book reviews)

ALAN Review

Bookbird: A Journal of International Children's Literature

Book Links *

Children's Literature (scroll down page to exact title)

Children's Literature Association Quarterly (scroll down page to exact title)

English Journal

Horn Book *

Journal of Children's Literature

Kirkus Reviews *

The Lion and the Unicorn

Publisher's Weekly *

School Library Journal *

VOYA: Voices of Youth Advocates


The databases Books in Print with Reviews and Children's Literature Comprehensive Database often include reviews from a number of the sources named above (as well as from other sources).  See links to these databases in the "Informational Databases" box on this page.

The databases listed in the "Periodical Databases" box on this page will also provide access to most of periodicals named above.

Informational Databases

The following are databases that contain information about books and authors.  They are not periodical databases (i.e., they don't contain journal and magazine articles).  Several do, however, contain reviews of books that are taken from periodicals.

Suggestions:

  1. If you are looking for book reviews, try Children's Literature Comprehensive Database, Books in Print with Reviews, Book Review Digest Plus.
  2. If you are looking for author information, try Something About the Author, Children's Literature Review, and Literary Reference Center (the latter two being primarily concerned with literary criticism but also containing some biographical information).
  3. If you are looking for literary criticism, try Children's Literature Review and Literary Reference Center. Something About the Author may also provide some scholarly criticism.

Periodical Databases

Use the following databases to find curricular and pedagogical journal and magazine articles related to using C&YA lit in the classroom, literary criticism, and book reviews.