Educational Resource Center
Maxwell Library, 2nd Fl.
Bridgewater State University
10 Shaw Rd.
Bridgewater, MA 02325
Resource Guides (themed bibliographies and guides to our collections compiled by the staff of the ERC)
Education K-12 Maxguide (main education subject guide)
MTEL (MA Tests for Educator Licensure) (subject guide)
C&YA Lit in the ERC
The Educational Resource Center in Maxwell Library has a collection of approximately 20,000 children's and young adult (C&YA) books,
both fiction and non-fiction. We provide these in support of the teacher education programs at Bridgewater State University.
Organization of Our Collections
Our C&YA books are categorized and shelved as follows:
Big Books (large format books for shared reading)
Picture Books (books with few or no words)
(books are arranged using the Dewey Decimal classification system)
Find Books in Maxwell Library
Limit your search by location
An excellent way to limit your search to books located in the ERC is to go to the Advanced Search page and click on the Collection tab below the search boxes. Here, you can limit to books in specific collections of the ERC, such as picture books, children's fiction books, textbooks, etc.
Find Books using the Commonwealth Catalog
Search the Massachusetts Commonwealth Catalog to access millions of items at participating libraries across Massachusetts to find the books, DVDs, and music you’re looking for.
If we don't have a children's or young adult book you want at Maxwell Library, try this statewide catalog to see if another MA library has it. If you find a book you want in the Commonwealth Catalog, you can select and order it online and have it sent to you at BSU (the item will go to the Maxwell Library Circulation Desk).
Selected Books about C&YA Lit
- Best books for children : preschool through grade 6Call Number: ERC Ref PN1009.A1 B546 2010
- Best books for middle school and junior high readers : grades 6-9Call Number: ERC Ref PN1009.A1 B547 2009
- Best books for high school readers: grades 9-12Call Number: ERC Ref PN1009.A1 .B481 2009
- The big book of children's reading lists : 100 great, ready-to-use book lists for educators, librarians, parents, and childrenCall Number: ERC Ref Z1037 .K29 2006
- Bridges to understanding : envisioning the world through children's booksCall Number: ERC Ref PN1009.A1 B766 2011
- The Cambridge companion to children's literatureCall Number: ERC Ref PR990 .C362 2009
- Handbook of research on children's and young adult literatureCall Number: ERC Ref PS121 .H22 2011
- What do children and young adults read next? : a reader's guide to fiction and nonfiction for children and young adultsCall Number: ERC Ref PS374.C45 W5472 2012
We have many other titles. Come in and browse the ERC Reference and General collections to discover more titles, or use our online catalog to find other titles we own.