Maxwell Library A-Z List
Access the A-Z list of Maxwell Library's electronic and print journals:
Selected Databases that May Contain Primary Sources
Some of the below links contain articles that are considered to be primary sources, but not everything that is included qualifies.
- America: History and Life (with Full Text) [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowBibliographic references, with abstracts, to articles from journals covering American and Canadian history.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowDigital images in the areas of art, architecture, humanities, and social sciences for use in research and teaching. The collection includes contributions from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
- Biography Index: Past and Present (H.W. Wilson) [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowBiographies from Gale Group sources and full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals.
- Current Biography Illustrated [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowBiographical information from articles and obituaries from newspapers, magazines, and books and more than 19,500 images.
- DPLA - Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new windowNearly 17 million digitized items from libraries, archives, museums, and open access online resources. Brings together different viewpoints, experiences, and collections in a single platform and portal, providing open and coherent access to our society’s digitized cultural heritage.
- Academic OneFile Select (formerly Expanded Academic ASAP) This link opens in a new windowAbstracts from articles taken from over 1,500 scholarly, trade and general-interest publications, with coverage of core titles in every major academic concentration. The full text is available for a selected number of these titles.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCitations, with abstracts, from the literature of world history (excludes the US and Canada). Dates of coverage: 1954-
- Historical New York Times (ProQuest News & Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowProvides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowRetrospective issues from scholarly journals includes mathematics, philosophy, anthropology, Asian studies, economics, history, literature, population studies, and sociology.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowA set of approximately 40 electronic journals from Johns Hopkins University Press, predominantly in the humanities.
Dates of coverage: Varies by journal title - ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new windowProvides access to thousands of journals relating to research and advances in science happening around the globe. Maxwell Library has access to the following collection: Health & Life Sciences Journals.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowIncludes books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries and bibliographies documenting women's activism in public life from colonial times to the present.
Dates of coverage: 1600-2000
