Open Educational Resources: Primary and Open Access Materials

Analytics and discovery platform from 1Science. 1findr aims to include all articles published in peer-reviewed journals, in all fields of research, in all languages and from every country. Free and institutional versions are available.

BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library. BASE provides more than 90 million documents from more than 4,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents. The index is continuously enhanced by integrating further OAI sources as well as local sources.

CORE aggregates research papers from data providers from all over the world including institutional repositories, subject-repositories and journal publishers. This process, which is called harvesting, allows us to offer search, text-mining and analytical capabilities over not only metadata, but also the full-text of the research papers making CORE a unique service in the research community.

Collaborative EU project that promotes open scholarship and improves the discoverability and reusability of research publications and data. The OpenAIRE portal provides open access to as much European funded research output as possible.

ROAD, the Directory of Open Access scholarly Resources, is a service offered by the ISSN International Centre with the support of the Communication and Information Sector of UNESCO. ROAD provides a single access point to different types of online scholarly resources published worldwide and freely available. Resources covered include journals, conference proceedings, academic repositories, and monographic series (from 2014). Selection of content is based upon the following criteria: open access to the whole content; no moving wall; the resource comprises mainly research papers; and, the audience is mostly researchers and scholars.

The Teaching Commons brings together high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities. Curated by librarians and their institutions, the Teaching Commons includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more.

ArchiveGrid includes over four million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.

Listing compiled by the Open Education Database of over 250 libraries and archives that focus on mainly localized, regional, and U.S. history. Organized by state.

Electronic copies of thousands of interesting Federal Government documents obtained under the Freedom of Information Act.

The Congressional Research Service, a component of the Library of Congress, conducts research and analysis for Congress on a broad range of issues of national policy. While many CRS memoranda are generated in response to individual Member or staff inquiries and are confidential, most CRS reports are available to anyone who has access to a congressional intranet. Yet at the direction of Congress, CRS does not make even its non-confidential publications directly available to the public online. In order to help overcome this unnecessary barrier, the Federation of American Scientists endeavors to provide current, regularly updated public access to as many non-confidential CRS reports as possible. These reports are provided without congressional or CRS authorization as a public service.

Discover historic programs of publicly funded radio and television across America. A project of the Library of Congress and WGBH in Boston, the American Archive of Public Broadcasting preserves the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years.

The National Film Registry is a list of movies deemed "culturally, historically or aesthetically significant" that are earmarked for preservation by the Library of Congress. This digital collection presents a variety of Registry titles – the majority of movies are freely available as both MP4 and MOV downloads. The films are also available on the Library of Congress’ YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLpAGnumt6iV4zCl3zeB75j6eKEPmDBSYC.

AgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, including Working papers, Conference papers, and journal articles.

arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics.

bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.

(In beta.) ChemRxiv -- a free online submission, distribution, and archival service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas -- is operated by the American Chemical Society.

ChemWeb.com provides access to the information chemists need to enhance their research, product development, self-development, education, and/or their businesses in Chemistry and related disciplines. Easy access to abstracts, papers, journals, books, conferences news, forums and the Alchemist newsletter makes ChemWeb.com powerful and useful to our members.ChemWeb.com members can access a growing list of journal article abstracts and databases from a variety of publishers.

ChoralWiki hosts public-domain scores of more than 22,200 choral and vocal works by 2,600-plus composers. Users may search by composer and title and can conduct broader searches using pull-down options to select specific score categories, including sacred and secular genres, voicing, and accompaniment.

CORE is a full-text, interdisciplinary, non-profit social repository designed to increase the impact of work in the Humanities. CORE is an open access repository – anyone can download content. It is part of the Humanities Commons, a project of the Office of Scholarly Communication at the Modern Language Association.

The Digital Library of the Commons (DLC) is a gateway to the international literature on the commons. The DLC provides free and open access to full-text articles, papers, and dissertations.
The commons is a general term for shared resources in which each stakeholder has an equal interest. Studies on the commons include the information commons with issues about public knowledge, the public domain, open science, and the free exchange of ideas -- all issues at the core of a direct democracy.
Common-pool resources (CPRs) are natural or human-made resources where one person's use subtracts from another's use and where it is often necessary, but difficult and costly, to exclude other users outside the group from using the resource.. The majority of the CPR research to date has been in the areas of fisheries, forests, grazing systems, wildlife, water resources, irrigation systems, agriculture, land tenure and use, social organization, theory (social dilemmas, game theory, experimental economics, etc.), and global commons (climate change, air pollution, transboundary disputes, etc.). There is a growing corpus of work on "new" or "nontraditional" commons, which focuses on urban commons (apartment buildings, parking spaces, playgrounds, etc.), the Internet, electro-magnetic spectrum, genetic data, budgets, etc.

Earth-Prints is an open archive created and maintained by Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia. This digital collection allows users to browse, search and access manuscripts, journal articles, theses, conference materials, books, book-chapters, web products.
The goal of our repository is to collect, capture, disseminate and preserve the results of research in the fields of Atmosphere, Cryosphere, Hydrosphere and Solid Earth.

The National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research in a scientific manner, and without policy recommendations, among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.

PhilSci-Archive is offered by its sponsors as a free service to philosophers of science. Its goal is to preserve and foster the rapid exchange of new work in philosophy of science. It aims to provide a stable, openly accessible repository in which scholarly articles and monographs may find a permanent home. While tailored specifically to philosophers of science, PhilSci-Archive follows the same principles of openness and critical exchange that underlie pre-print archives in physics (arXiv) and biology (biorXiv).
Preprints and postprints posted on the archive are restricted to those in philosophy of science or related material of interest to professional philosophers of science. The range of admissible topics and the style of analysis is set by the topics and styles of material publishable in the Philosophy of Science Association journal, Philosophy of Science

RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 79 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics and related sciences. The heart of the project is a decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components, all maintained by volunteers.

RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 82 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics and related sciences. The heart of the project is a decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components, all maintained by volunteers. The collected data is then used in various services as IDEAS (the complete RePEc database for browsing and searching).

The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 10.7 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints. The main body of data in the ADS consists of bibliographic records, which are searchable through highly customizable query forms, and full-text scans of much of the astronomical literature which can be browsed or searched via our full-text search interface. Integrated in its databases, the ADS provides access and pointers to a wealth of external resources, including electronic articles, data catalogs and archives.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 637,300 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 532,100 downloadable full text documents in PDF format.

SocArXiv -- the open access, open source archive of social science -- was created in partnership with the Center for Open Science. SocArXiv provides a free, noncommercial service for rapid sharing of academic papers; it is built on the Open Science Framework, a platform for researchers to upload data and code as well as research results.