Communication Sciences and Disorders: Home

Try keyword and title searches on the following words and phrases:

• Children with disabilities
• Cognitive psychology
• Inclusive education
• Language disorders
• Learning disabilities
• Mainstreaming
• Psycholinguistics
• Speech disorders
• etc.

Note:  Circulating books on special education and communication disorders can be found in the General Collection of the Educational Resource Center, as well as in the General Collection of Maxwell Library.

For more information on finding books, see "Find Books" on the main education guide.

Print

Find communication sciences and disorders encyclopedias and handbooks in the ERC Reference collection (print collection) by using the search box below. 

Try keyword and subject searches on the following and other words and phrases:

• disabilities (or students with disabilities or children with disabilities)
• speech disorders
• language disorders
• rehabilitation
• assistive computer technology
• etc.

Online

Online Education and Psychology Reference Sources

Use the databases to find periodical articles and other literature.

List of education, psychology, and related periodical databases. 

Some databases, such as PsycInfo and PsycArticles, permit you to limit a search to specific populations and age groups.

ComDisDome - a database specifically for researching communication disorders research with focus on speech-language pathology and audiology. Also allows for limit to peer-reviewed articles, and methodologies.

Note: Use the library's A to Z Journal List to find out which periodicals Maxwell Library subscribes to. The A to Z Journal List will also tell you which databases contain the full-text for the journals you are interested in.

In some cases, some periodicals are only indexed and abstracted in the databases; the full-text is not available. When that is the case, you can use Interlibrary Loan to obtain articles you need.

To locate psychological and educational tests and measures, see the Tests and Measures guide.