English: Recommended Websites

Full episodes of great theater works, including "Driving Miss Daisy" with James Earl Jones and Angela Lansbury, "King Lear" starring Ian McKellen, and "Macbeth" starring Patrick Stewart.

Winners for The Pulitzer Prize in Drama, 1918-2017, includes finalists 1983-2017.

Listen to audio-recorded readings of former Consultants in Poetry Elizabeth Bishop, Gwendolyn Brooks and Robert Frost; Nobel Laureates Mario Vargas Llosa and Czeslaw Milosz, and renowned writers such as Ray Bradbury, Margaret Atwood, and Kurt Vonnegut read from their work at the Library of Congress.

Over 2,000 freely available online recordings of poets from around the English-speaking world.

Text for more than 40,000 poems, over 1,500 audio poems.

Website of the Academy of American Poets includes materials for teachers as well as poems and poets that can be browsed or searched by Occasions, Themes, Forms, or Schools & Movements.

This collection present ten plays written by Hurston (1891-1960), author, anthropologist, and folklorist. Deposited as unpublished typescripts in the United States Copyright Office between 1925 and 1944, most of the plays remained unpublished and unproduced until a manuscript curator rediscovered them in the Copyright Deposit Drama Collection in 1997.

Selected online resources related to Tracy K. Smith's life and work.

An online edition of An Anglo-Saxon Dictionary, or a dictionary of "Old English". The dictionary records the state of the English language as it was used between ca. 700-1100 AD by the Anglo-Saxon inhabitants of the British Isles.

This collection of Middle English texts was assembled from works contributed by University of Michigan faculty and from texts provided by the Oxford Text Archive, as well as works created specifically for the Corpus by the Humanities Text Initiative (HTI).

Key information, including (where known) date and place of composition, verse form, authorship and sources, extant manuscripts and modern prints, is provided for each romance, as is a full list of modern editions.

Unique collection items and expert articles relating to to some of the earliest works of English literature and most influential figures in literary history.

441 works of classical literature by 59 different authors, mainly Greco-Roman works (some Chinese and Persian works), all in English translation.

Covers the history, literature, and culture of the Greco-Roman world.

Conceptually arranged, and presents the vocabulary of Anglo-Saxon England within ordered categories.

Complete digitized texts of Caxton's two earliest editions of The Canterbury Tales from the British Library.

An introduction to Chaucer and his works, including descriptions of books with images (University of Glasgow Library).

Multilingual database that uses the search and display capabilities of electronic texts to make the distinctive features of Early Greek epic accessible to readers with and without Greek.

Complete catalogue of literary manuscripts by 237 British authors of the 16th and 17th centuries. Offers descriptions of more than 37,000 manuscript texts of poems, plays, discourses, translations, etc., as well as notebooks, annotated printed books, corrected proofs, promptbooks, letters, documents, and other related manuscript materials.

Lists over 480,000 items published between 1473 and 1800, from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries. Includes items mainly in English and published in the British Isles and North America.

Digital images of early Donne editions and manuscripts.

Celebrating the life and work of Christopher Marlowe.

A digital facsimile of the First Folio of Shakespeare's plays, Bodleian Archive.

107 copies of the 21 plays by Shakespeare printed in quarto before 1642.

Online text of Shakespeare's complete plays and poetry.

Works of Shakespeare and Renaissance writers in relation to the social, political and cultural context in which they were written.

Meticulously accurate texts from the Folger Shakespeare Library editions. Free downloads of the source code - providing the basis for new noncommercial Shakespeare projects and apps.

Online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata by scholars and educators in the field.

Full text of the plays and poems integrated with a glossary database, allowing users to search for any word or phrase in Shakespeare's works, and in particular to find all instances of all words that can pose a difficulty to the modern reader.

"The John Milton Reading Room: the complete poetry and selected prose of John Milton, with introductions, research guides, and hyperlinked annotations."

Digital collection of pre-1642 editions of William Shakespeare's plays.

New York Public Library digital collection. Fifty-two published works by 19th-century black women writers provide access to their thought, perspectives, and creative abilities. Includes poetry, short stories, histories, narratives, novels, autobiographies, social criticism, and theology, as well as economic and philosophical treatises.

Free, expansive, searchable, reliable, peer-reviewed, copy-edited, easy-to-use overview of the period 1775-1925.

Lives and works of key writers from a period that ushered in political unrest, social change and new literary forms.

Over 8,000 pages of collection items and explores more than 20 authors through 165 newly-commissioned articles, 25 short documentary films, and 30 lesson plans.

Collaborative digital archive and research project devoted to the poetry of the long eighteenth century. Includes 272 authors and over 1,700 texts.

Scholarly website devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture. Includes electronic editions of Romantic-era texts, peer-reviewed volumes of literary criticism, bibliographies, indexes and concordances, chronologies, audio files, a curated collection of Romantic-era images, and reviews of current Romantic scholarship.

Literary treasures from the Romantic and Victorian periods

Allows readers to get easy access to parts of Victorian novels in the order in which they were published in the nineteenth century.

Alphabetical listing of authors active during the Victorian era.

Primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. Represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more.

A collection of William Blake's visual arts and literary works.

Digital access to major works in print, painting, and poetry of William Blake.

New York Public Library digital collection. In this presentation, The New York Public Library's Kenneth Benson surveys the life and works of the most beloved author of the Victorian era.

High-resolution images of Dickinson's surviving manuscripts held in multiple libraries and archives.

Repository for the study of resources related to Emily Dickinson.

The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material associated with Frederick Douglass, including manuscripts, photographs, and books.

E-text of a selected group of Paul Laurence Dunbar's poetry, as well as an image gallery and bibliography of selected resources.

Comprehensive collection of e-texts of and about Edgar Allan Poe.

Digitized manuscripts of Percy Bysshe Selley, Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, William Godwin, and Mary Wollstonecraft

Online version of Melville’s magisterial tome: each of its 135 chapters read out aloud, by a mixture of the celebrated and the unknown, to be broadcast online in a sequence of 135 downloads, publicly and freely accessible.

"The Walt Whitman Archive endeavors to make Whitman's vast work freely and conveniently accessible to scholars, students, and general readers."

Over 300 20th-century treasures from the British Library's collection including literary drafts, rare first editions, notebooks, letters, newspapers, and photographs.

New York Public Library digital collection.

African-American expressions of writing, music, and art during the 1920s and 1930s in the vast collections of the Library of Congress.

A major resource for the study of modernism in the English-speaking world, with periodical literature as its central concern.

Captures more than 50 years of cultural programming at the intersection of literature and freedom of expression advocacy. Features the world’s foremost writers, intellectuals, and artists in candid and often heated discourse about the most relevant cultural and political issues of our times.

Freely available digital editions of Cather texts and scholarship, as well as a large amount of unique, born-digital scholarly content.

Over 2,000 audio cassette recordings of Allen Ginsberg, acclaimed poet of the Beat Generation.

Online repository of bibliographical, critical, and contextual materials related to Zora Neale Hurston's life and work.