Home - POLI 279 Introduction to Public Administration - Haynes - MaxGuides at Bridgewater State University

Welcome

This guide is intended to help you do complete your library assignment. Please contact me at (508) 531-2893 or phayesboh@bridgew.edu if you need further assistance.

Additional Help

Online Databases

Some tips for searching these databases:

Some, but not all, of the records will have the full-text of the article attached. Click "Full Text Finder" , or "Find Full Text" to find out if we have the article available in another database.
If you click on the name of the periodical within the record you can find out if it is peer-reviewed.
These databases require a BSU login.

Business Source Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Citations with abstracts for over 3,000 scholarly journals as well as other periodicals in management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
This database contains full text for over 400 journals, and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 800 journals with a worldwide focus.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic Onefile contains articles from 8,000 academic journals, the majority in full-text; hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC; and full-text New York Times content to 1995.
Nexis Uni (formerly: LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Very good resource for finding newspaper articles. It includes The Washington Post, as well as other national and local newspapers. Select "Newspapers" under the "Source Type" Heading. Use quotation marks around phrases (e.g. "street level bureaucrat"). All articles are full-text.
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text for The Boston Globe 1980-present, New York Daily Times 1851-1857, New York Times 1857-present, and Wall Street Journal 1984-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full-image collection of retrospective issues from scholarly journals of prime importance in their fields. Subject coverage includes mathematics, philosophy, anthropology, Asian studies, economics, history, literature, population studies, and sociology (from the Arts & Sciences I Collection) and botany and ecology (from the Ecology & Botany Collection).
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
This streaming video collection consists of more than 7,000 titles and covers a broad range of subject areas including humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, and medicine.