This guide is an introduction to some of the library resources available for research for your group projects. Please feel free to contact me if you need assistance. Individual, or group, research appointments can be made by calling me at (508) 531-1740 or through this form.
Chat with a Librarian
- An account of the conquest of Guatemala in 1524 byCall Number: F1437 .A466
- The Diario of Christopher Columbus's First Voyage to America, 1492-1493 byCall Number: E118 .C725 1989
- The discovery and conquest of Mexico, 1517-1521. byCall Number: F1230 .D5442 1956
- The Discovery of Yucatan by Francisco Hernández de Córdoba, (Call Number: F1376 .W14
- Historia verdadera de la conquista de la Nueva España. byCall Number: F1230 .D5372
- History of the Indies byCall Number: F1411 .C4275Publication Date: 1971
- Letters and People of the Spanish Indies byCall Number: F1411 .L58ISBN: 0521099900Publication Date: 1976
- The Log of Christopher ColumbusCall Number: E118 .C725Publication Date: 1991
- Companion to Latin American StudiesCovering all the possible topics, from colonial cultures and identity to US Latino culture and issues of race, gender and sexuality, this book situates Latin America in its historical, linguistic and cultural context (description from Credo Reference)
- The Spanish in America, 1513-1974 byCall Number: Reference E123 .N37Publication Date: 1975
Find Journal Articles using Databases
This list of databases represents a wide range of topics. Nevertheless, you may still not find exactly what you are looking for. If you need assistance searching the databases please contact me.
A BSU login in is required to use these databases.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- America: History and Life (with Full Text) This link opens in a new windowBibliographic references, with abstracts, to articles from over 2,000 journals covering American and Canadian history
- Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new windowMore than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily, exploring cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
- European Views of the Americas This link opens in a new windowThis new bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowIncludes approximately 26,000 video titles and more than 250,000 video segments covering a broad range of subject areas including humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, and medicine.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowThe premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly. Gale's InterLink technology intelligently connects contextually-relevant results from your library's eBook collection on GVRL within articles in a user's search results. The Topic Finder tool adds power and depth to searches, allowing students to mine their search results and develop their research focus in ways never before available.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 540 journals and 140 books, indexing of historical articles from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages, and searchable cited references for more than 500 journals. Coverage dates back to 1953, with some coverage for titles back to the early 20th century. Subjects include world history, military history, women’s history, history of education and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSubject covers include history, law, and more.
- Military and Intelligence Database Collection This link opens in a new windowMore than 16 million articles covering all aspects of the past and present military affairs, including subjects such as governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
- Nexis Uni (formerly: LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text for nearly 700 journals, 330 reference books, and 47,000 conference papers covering political topics with a worldwide focus. Subjects include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations, and political theory.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowAn interdisciplinary collection of more than 650 high quality, peer reviewed journals designed for institutions acquiring extensively in the humanities and social sciences.
- Religion & Philosophy Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 200 journals and magazines, more than 170 of which are peer-reviewed. Full-text coverage dates back to 1911. Subjects include world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.
- SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 650 journals and magazines, including more than 620 peer-reviewed journals and 320 non-embargoed journals. Covers a broad range of studies, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies, and social work. Abstracts date back to 1895.
- World History in Context This link opens in a new windowWorld History in Context provides information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in world history over 5,000 years from antiquity to the present and geographically around the world from reference books, journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.
Looking for a particular article?
You can determine whether Maxwell Library subscribes to a particular journal with the A-Z journal list which lists all of our print and electronic subscriptions.
If you need an article from a journal to which we do not subscribe, you may request it through Interlibrary loan.
Mon - Fri.: 7:30 am - 11:45 pm
Sat.: 8:30 am – 4:00 pm
Sun.: 12pm – 11:45pm
More General Collection Books
Christianity in Latin AmericaCall Number: BR600 .P73613 2013
Bartolomé de las Casas; a selection of his writings byCall Number: F1411 .C4273
Daily Life of the Aztecs on the Eve of the Spanish Conquest byCall Number: F1219 .S723ISBN: 0804707219Publication Date: 1961
Seven Myths of the Spanish Conquest byCall Number: F1230 .R47 2003ISBN: 9780195160772Publication Date: 2003
The Broken Spears 2007 byCall Number: F1230 .V764 2006