Welcome
This guide is intended to help you do research for your Communication Studies class. Ask Us at (508) 531-1394
Search the Library Catalog
Maxwell Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System. To locate your book in the General Collection look at the first letter of the call number. If it begins with the letter A-L, it will be on the second floor. If it starts with the letters M-Z, it will be on the third floor. Reference Books and periodicals are located on the first floor and may not be checked out.
Reference Books
- Encyclopedia of International Media and Communicatione-book requires a BSU log in
- Encyclopedia of communication and information edited by Jorge Reina SchementCall no. P87.5 .E53 (3 volumes)
Literature Review
- Sample Literature ReviewCheck it out, to understand literature reviews better.
Online Databases
Some tips for searching these databases:
- Some, but not all, of the records will have the full-text of the article attached. Click "Full Text Finder" to find out if we have the article available in another database.
- These databases require a BSU login.
- Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowIncludes magazines, newspapers and journals from a wide variety of disciplines. You will also find some scholarly journals here.
- Gale Academic OneFile Select (formerly Expanded Academic ASAP) This link opens in a new window(formerly Expanded Academic ASAP) covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. This resource for academic research integrates the full text of publications from across the disciplines and now includes vocational/technical titles used by community college students, filling a specific need for curriculum-oriented collections. Gale Academic OneFile Select provides indexing for more than 5,000 periodicals, more than 2,800 in full text without any embargo. The combination of full text for scholarly journals and selected general interest titles for smaller academic libraries is ideal.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowIncorporates CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous other journals in the communication and mass media fields. CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles with full text for nearly 200 journals.
- Communications and Mass Media Collection [Gale] This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new windowCovers today's hottest social issues, offering differing views to help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.
How do I obtain an article if I have the citation?
Enter the title of the article in the Google Scholar box to find out if it is available at Maxwell Library.
Additional Help
- Try Building Your Own Concept MapThis is an online Mind Map tool that will assist you in building a concept map for your topic. Have Fun!
Evaluating Sources: Use the CRAAP Test Method (It really helps!)
Library Hours
Mon - Thur.: 7:30 am – 11:00 pm
Fri.: 7:30 am – 5:00 pm
Sat.: 8:30 am – 4:00 pm
Sun.: 12pm – 10:00pm
What is a Peer Reviewed Journal?
Scholarly, or peer-reviewed journals contain articles that are written for scholars by scholars. Articles are generally based on original research conducted by the authors, and which go through the process of peer review - other scholars in the same field read and comment on the article and determine if it is worthy of publication. It is a lengthy process which can take up to several years. Some articles are never published. To identify a scholarly article in the Social Sciences look for these clues:
- Is there an abstract?
- Can you find an author affiliation?
- Does the body of the article have headings such as "Introduction", "Methods", "Results", "Discussion", and "Conclusions" ?
- Are there References at the end?
- Do you see charts, graphs, and tables, but few (if any) illustrations?