Welcome
This Guide is intended to help you find library materials on photographers. If you need further assistance please ask a reference librarian.
Find a book
Use Maxwell Library's Online Catalog to search for a book by, or about, a person. If you search by author or subject enter the person's last name first (e.g. Mapplethorpe, Robert). You can also search by Keyword (All fields). Word order does not matter in this case. Also try searching "Photographers - Biography" as a subject to find books that have a collection of biographies.
Additional Information
- Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery ServiceRequest books and other materials from other libraries.
- Massachusetts Commonwealth CatalogSearch for and request books in other Massachusetts libraries. Login with your Connect card number.
Online Databases
- Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic database, with abstracts, citing articles from over 375 art periodicals. The full text is included for a select number of journals. One user maximum at a time.
Dates of coverage: 9/84- for indexing; 1/94 for abstracts; 1997- for full text - Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new windowMore than 650,000 biographical articles of international figures from every time period and area of study. Content is searchable across more than 170 titles, videos, audio selections, images, and articles.
- Biography Reference Center [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowBiography Reference Center includes more than 461,000 full-text biographies with complete runs of Biography Today and Biography, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowA database of digital images. Set up a free account by clicking on the link in the top left corner.
- Historical New York Times (ProQuest News & Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowProvides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time, covering 1851-2013.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 540 journals and 140 books, indexing of historical articles from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages, and searchable cited references for more than 500 journals. Coverage dates back to 1953, with some coverage for titles back to the early 20th century. Subjects include world history, military history, women’s history, history of education and more.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowIncludes approximately 26,000 video titles and more than 250,000 video segments covering a broad range of subject areas including humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, and medicine.
- Journal FinderUse this database to search for journals by title.
Reference
- Contemporary photographers byCall Number: TR139 .C66 1995One copy of this book is located in the Reference Department on the first floor. Another copy is in the General Oversize (Circulating) Collection on the the third floor.
Google Scholar
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse Google Scholar if you have a citation and want to find the article.
Subject Guide
Pamela Hayes-Bohanan
Contact:
Reference Department
Clement C. Maxwell Library
(508) 531-2893
Website
Clement C. Maxwell Library
(508) 531-2893
Library Hours
Mon - Thur.: 7:30 am – 11:00 pm
Fri.: 7:30 am – 5:00 pm
Sat.: 8:30 am – 4:00 pm
Sun.: 12pm – 10:00pm