Competitors and Complementary Business
Finding direct competitors and complementary businesses (Businesses that are not in direct competition but may be useful to your targeted market.),
Data Axel Reference Solutions (Formerly Reference USA), D&B and Nexis Uni may be used to help you locate competitors and complementary business. They provide detailed directory information. You may use the Advanced Search and narrow by industry and geography.)
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowContains articles from magazines, academic journals, podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA general-interest academic database which features scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals as well as abstracts and indexing for many additional titles.
- Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory This link opens in a new windowProvides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowContains full text journals, including some peer-reviewed titles. Topics covered include marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.
- CCH AnswerConnect Tax Research Software This link opens in a new windowThe text of federal and state tax regulations, Internal Revenue Code and other tax publications.
- EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSubject indexing and abstracts of journals in economics plus books, dissertations, and working papers.
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new windowD&B Hoovers, previously known as OneSource, is a company database. It provides a one‐stop shop for information about companies, executives, industries, and current events related to business. You can use it to find such as company profiles, news, analyst reports, SWOT analyses, executive information, and company financials as well as make custom lists and reports for US and international companies.
- Data Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new windowProvides detailed information on more than 14 million U.S. businesses, with 27 data elements including executives, financial information, and articles. To connect, select U.S. Business from the "Select a database to search" pulldown menu on the ReferenceUSA home page. Dates of coverage: Varies
- Nexis Uni (formerly: LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new windowNewspapers, business periodicals, legal journals and case laws, medical articles, and company financial section.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 100 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications, including coverage back to 1990. Key resources include newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines, and newswires.