This guide is intended to help you do research for your English 102 class. It includes access to: Books; Articles in periodicals (through databases), and Films.
Please contact a Reference librarian at (508) 531-1394 or email@example.com if you need further assistance.
Search Maxwell Library's online catalog
Maxwell Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System. To locate your book in the General Collection look at the first letter of the call number. If it begins with the letter A-L, it will be on the second floor. If it starts with the letters M-Z, it will be on the third floor. Reference Books and periodicals are located on the first floor and may not be checked out.
These databases require a BSU login.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA general database. Many of the articles are available full text. If not, click on "Full Text Finder" for other options in locating the full text. Results may be narrowed by date, types of sources, subject, and geography.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowA general database. Many of the articles are available full text. If not, click on "Find Full Text" for other options in locating the full text. Refine results by article type, such as peer reviewed.
- Nexis Uni (formerly: LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new windowA general database that includes articles from newspapers worldwide. Note the new look. Search in the box under Academic Search. Results are newest to oldest but may be changed to relevance or oldest to newest. Limit results by category, such as newspapers. Results may also be limited by Geography, etc.
- News & Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearchable full text for The Boston Globe 1980-present, New York Daily Times 1851-1857, New York Times 1857-present, and Wall Street Journal 1984-present.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new windowThis database is particularly helpful for persuasive essays.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse Google Scholar to find an article if you have the citation. Type the title of the article into the search box to find out if it is available at Maxwell Library.
Films on Demand
Clement C. Maxwell Library
Mon - Fri.: 7:30 am - 11:45 pm
Sat.: 8:30 am – 4:00 pm
Sun.: 12pm – 11:45pm