ACM Digital Library
A research, discovery and networking platform containing the full-text collection of all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books, and a collection of curated and hosted full-text publications from select publishers.
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics.
ScienceDirect College Edition
Provides access to thousands of journals relating to research and advances in science happening around the globe. Maxwell Library has access to the following collections: Health & Life Sciences Journals, Physical Sciences Journals, and Social & Behavioral Sciences Journals.
Science in Context
Full text for millions of articles from national and global publications as well as more than 200 experiments, projects, and top reference content. Showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather.
Enter your query using free-form natural language.
American Physics Society: Recent News
Library and Open Access Research Databases
SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 10.7 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints. The main body of data in the ADS consists of bibliographic records, which are searchable through highly customizable query forms, and full-text scans of much of the astronomical literature which can be browsed or searched via our full-text search interface. Integrated in its databases, the ADS provides access and pointers to a wealth of external resources, including electronic articles, data catalogs and archives.
Living Reviews are scientific open access journals, publishing review articles that provide insightful surveys on research progress in the fields they cover, and guiding readers to the most important literature in the field. The Max Planck Society is no longer able to operate Living Reviews, but will continue to host the web site until Living Reviews has been transferred to Springer where publication will resume shortly.
Science in Context
General Science Collection
Expanded Academic ASAP
General Reference Center Gold
Full-text documents from over 17,000 credible sources of information, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 63 million executives. Coverage includes numerous newspapers, business periodicals, legal journals and case laws, and medical journals.
Find Books & Videos
Books on Astronomy and Physics are shelved on the third floor in the library. Their call numbers (or shelf numbers) start with QB (Astronomy, QB1-991) and QC (Physics, QC1-999), respectively.
There will also be applicable books on Physics and related topics in the sections T-TL (Technology). These shelves are adjacent to the QB/QC shelves on third floor.
When do not kow what to search, do a subject search with the following headings:
- Acoustics (QC221-246)
- Astrophysics (QB460-466)
- Atomic Physics (QC170-197)
- Digital electronics (TK7800-8360)
- Electricity (QC501-721)
- Energy, Thermodynamics (QC251-338.5)
- Mechinics (QC170-1)
- Magnetism (QC750-766)
- Molecular Physics (QC170-197)
- Nuclear physics (QC770-798)
- Optics (QC350-467)
- Particles (QC793-793.5)
- Quantum (QC170-197)
- Radiation (QC474-496.9)
- Relativity (Physics) (QC170-197)
- Solar system (QB500.5-785)
- Solid state physics (QC170-197)
- Stars (QB799-903)
Selected Journals (Recommended by Faculty)
Selected Journals by Subject
Physical Review Letter: Recent Articles
Reviews of Modern Physics: Recent Articles
Search for Journals A to Z
Astronomy Image Explorer (AIE)
The Astronomy Image Explorer (AIE) has been designed as a convenient and efficient tool for researchers working in the fields of Astronomy and Astrophysics to gain access to images published in peer-reviewed journals. Images made available on this site are for academic use by the research community. Users are able to easily search for images with any combination of author, journal, citation, format, and key words. Convenient tools are available to generate PowerPoint slides, download-high resolution images, obtain copyright and reuse information, or view the image within the context of the originally published research.
Einstein Archives Online
The Einstein Archives Online Website provides the first online access to Albert Einstein’s scientific and non-scientific manuscripts held by the Albert Einstein Archives at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem.
Herschel Space Observatory
The Herschel Space Observatory is a space-based telescope that will study the Universe by the light of the far-infrared and submillimeter portions of the spectrum. It is expected to reveal new information about the earliest, most distant stars and galaxies, as well as those closer to home in space and time. It will also take a unique look at our own solar system. Herschel is the fourth Cornerstone mission in the European Space Agency's Horizon 2000 program. Ten countries, including the United States, are participating in its design and implementation. Herschel was launched in May 2009, and is expected to remain an active observatory for at least three years.
International Nuclear Information System (INIS)
The International Nuclear Information System (INIS) hosts one of the world's largest collections of published information on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology. It offers online access to a unique collection of non-conventional literature. INIS is operated by the IAEA in collaboration with over 150 members.
NIST Physical Measurement Laboratory
From the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). The Physical Measurement Laboratory (PML) develops and disseminates the national standards of length, mass, force and shock, acceleration, time and frequency, electricity, temperature, humidity, pressure and vacuum, liquid and gas flow, and electromagnetic, optical, microwave, acoustic, ultrasonic, and ionizing radiation. Its activities range from fundamental measurement research through provision of measurement services, standards, and data.
From the American Physical Society, PhysicsCentral provides real-world applications of physics along with current trends, profiles of physicists and other physics-related news.
From the Institute of Physics. Includes a database of over 4,000 physics sites, plus physics news, studying physics, and information about careers in physics.
The PhysLink.com is a comprehensive physics and astronomy online education, research and reference web site. In addition to providing high-quality content, PhysLink.com is a meeting place for professionals, students and other curious minds.
Phys.org (formerly Physorg.com) is a leading web-based science, research and technology news service which covers a full range of topics. These include physics, earth science, medicine, nanotechnology, electronics, space, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, mathematics and other sciences and technologies.
Sixty Symbols - Physics and Astronomy Videos
Videos about the symbols of physics and astronomy
The WorldWide Telescope (WWT) is a visualization environment that enables your computer to function as a virtual telescope—bringing together imagery from the world’s best ground- and space-based telescopes for the exploration of the universe. WWT blends terabytes of images, information, and stories from multiple sources into a seamless, immersive, rich media experience.
American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT)
AAPT is a professional membership association of scientists dedicated to enhancing the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching.
American Astronomical Society (AAS)
The American Astronomical Society (AAS), established in 1899 and based in Washington, DC, is the major organization of professional astronomers in North America. Its membership of about 7,000 individuals also includes physicists, mathematicians, geologists, engineers, and others whose research and educational interests lie within the broad spectrum of subjects comprising contemporary astronomy. The mission of the AAS is to enhance and share humanity’s scientific understanding of the universe.
American Institute of Physics (AIP)
Dedicated to the advancement of physics, AIP serves a federation of physical science societies in a common mission to promote physics and allied fields.
American Physical Society (APS)
The American Physical Society (APS) is a non-profit membership organization working to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics through its outstanding research journals, scientific meetings, and education, outreach, advocacy, and international activities. APS represents over 51,000 members, including physicists in academia, national laboratories, and industry in the United States and throughout the world.
Association for Astronomy Education (AAE)
The AAE promotes Public Education in Astronomy and supports the Teaching of Astronomy to students at all levels of education.
Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy (AURA)
The Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy (AURA) is a consortium of 40 US institutions and 4 international affiliates that operates world-class astronomical observatories. AURA’s role is to establish, nurture, and promote public observatories and facilities that advance innovative astronomical research. In addition, AURA is deeply committed to public and educational outreach, and to diversity throughout the astronomical and scientific workforce. AURA carries out its role through its astronomical facilities.
CERN (European Organization for Nuclear Research)
At CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research, physicists and engineers are probing the fundamental structure of the universe. They use the world's largest and most complex scientific instruments to study the basic constituents of matter – the fundamental particles. The particles are made to collide together at close to the speed of light. The process gives the physicists clues about how the particles interact, and provides insights into the fundamental laws of nature.
European Physical Society
The European Physical Society (EPS) is a not for profit association whose members include 42 National Physical Societies in Europe, individuals from all fields of physics, and European research institutions. As a learned society, the EPS engages in activities that strengthen ties among the physicists in Europe. As a federation of National Physical Societies, the EPS studies issues of concern to all European countries relating to physics research, science policy and education.
Institute of Physics
The Institute of Physics is a leading scientific society with a worldwide membership of more than 50,000, working together to advance physics education, research and application. It engages with policymakers and the general public to develop awareness and understanding of the value of physics and, through IOP Publishing, it is a leader in professional scientific communications.
Materials Research Society
The Materials Research Society (MRS) is an organization of materials researchers worldwide that promotes communication for the advancement of interdisciplinary materials research and technology to improve the quality of life. Founded in 1973, MRS now consists of over 16,000 members from the United States - as well as nearly 80 other countries. The interdisciplinary materials science society is different from that of single discipline professional societies because it encourages communication and technical information exchange across the various fields of science affecting materials.
The Optical Society
Founded in 1916, The Optical Society (OSA) is the leading professional association in optics and photonics, home to accomplished science, engineering, and business leaders from all over the world. Through world-renowned publications, meetings, and membership programs, OSA provides quality information and inspiring interactions that power achievements in the science of light.
Society of Physics Students
The Society of Physics Students (SPS) is a professional association explicitly designed for students. Membership, through collegiate chapters, is open to anyone interested in physics. The only requirement for membership is that you be interested in physics. Besides physics majors, our members include majors in chemistry, computer science, engineering, geology, mathematics, medicine, and other fields.
SPIE - International Society for Optics and Photonics
SPIE is an international society advancing an interdisciplinary approach to the science and application of light. The not-for-profit society advances emerging technologies through interdisciplinary information exchange, continuing education, publications, patent precedent, and career and professional growth.
Undergraduate Research in Physics
Pointers for working on your research:
- Use dictionaries and encylopedias to verify your ideas and thoughts at the beginning stage of your research. Encyclopedias may provide you with the background information on the topics of interest to you and may help further your research pursuit. Both tools can also help build the vocabulary in your subject area. In turn, you will be able to conduct literature search more effectively.
- Consult with your advisors and discuss with your peers often, which may help narrow and refine your ideas. But, keep in mind that searching for research topics as well as refining your ideas sometimes is a long and stressful process.
- Use a citation manager to store and organize the citation information of the books and the articles you have consulted when conducting literature search. Tools with note taking and citation-generation capabilities are best as you can write your review summary and save it for later use and output a group of selected citations in the style you want as well. Zotero is one of the best such tools and free.
- Outline how you want to organize and present your research findings in your paper when you get to the writing stage. Consult and discuss with your advisors. For more information about citation styles, consult the library's Citation Style Guides.
- Always give credit for the images, graphics, and charts that you will be using for your papers. Be copyright conscientious! When the original authors cannot be reached, contact the publishers for permissions for use .
Happy researching and happy writing!
Featured Undergraduate Research
Title: Solar Observations During a Solar Minimum Using a Small Radio Telescope, by Gary Forrester. In The Undergraduate Review: A JOURNAL OF UNDERGRADUATE RESEARCH AND CREATIVE WORK, Volume VI, 2009-2010, pp. 77-82. (Mentor: Dr. Martina Arndt)
Title: Synthesizing and Characterizing Sr2FeMoO6 Bulk and Thin Films, by Louis Bianchini. In The Undergraduate Review: A JOURNAL OF UNDERGRADUATE RESEARCH AND CREATIVE WORK, Volume IV, 2007-2008, pp. 65-70. (Mentor: Dr. Hashini Mohotalla)
Title: Superconducting Phases in Bulk and Thin Film LA2CuO4, by Brandon Green. In The Undergraduate Review: A JOURNAL OF UNDERGRADUATE RESEARCH AND CREATIVE WORK, Volume IV, 2007-2008, pp. 85-92. (Mentor: Dr. Hashini Mohotalla)
Title: The E.P.R. Paradox, by George Levesque. In The Undergraduate Review: A JOURNAL OF UNDERGRADUATE RESEARCH AND CREATIVE WORK, Volume III, 2006-2007, pp.123-131. (Mentor: Dr. Edward Deveney)
Title: Bianchi Identities and Weak Gravitational Lensing, by Brian Keith. In The Undergraduate Review: A JOURNAL OF UNDERGRADUATE RESEARCH AND CREATIVE WORK, Volume III, 2006-2007, pp. 153-158. (Mentor: Dr. Thomas P. Kling)
Useful Research Tools
Helps you collect, manage, cite, and share your research sources, and lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself.
Visit The Office of Undergraduate Research (OUR) for funding opportunities.