This guide is intended to help you do research in the field of Psychology. Begin by searching one of the databases to the right, or click on a navigation tab at the top of the page. Please contact a Reference Librarian (508) 531-1394 or email@example.com if you need assistance.
American Psychological Association (APA) Style Guides
- APA Style ExamplesSample citations and bibliographic entries
- APA Style HelpInformation from the APA website
- KnightCite Citation GeneratorFormats references with user-provided information.
Web Resources in Psychology
These are free web resources that anyone can use.
- Classics in the History of PsychologyFull-text documents in the public domain of historically significant writings in psychology.
- Encyclopedia of PsychologySearchable online directory of information in Psychology
These databases are available to Bridgewater State University affiliates. If you need assistance please contact a Reference Librarian.
- Psychology JournalsA list of journals in print and electronic format available at Maxwell Library. This database can also be searched to find out if Maxwell Library subscribes to a particular journal.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowThe database contains more than 45,000 articles from 57 journals - 46 published by the American Psychological Association and 11 from allied organizations. All articles in this database are peer-reviewed
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Abstracts and references for articles from professional psychology journals. Resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains nearly 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database provides nearly 575 full text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles on topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
- Psychology Collection This link opens in a new windowThis set explores what makes people "tick" from childhood to death. This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time.
- Ageline This link opens in a new windowIndex to over 200 sources with information relevant to aging and gerontology.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowThis free database contains more than 21 million citations for biomedical and genomic literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new windowProvides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments within areas such as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,600 scholarly journals. HeinOnline provides topic specific databases including all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law, and Women and the Law among others. Full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase is included.
How do I obtain an article if I have the citation?
Enter the title of the article you need (in quotation marks) into the Google Scholar search to find out if the article is available through one of Maxwell Library's databases.
Clement C. Maxwell Library
Mon - Thur.: 7:30 am – 11:45 pm
Fri.: 7:30 am – 5:00 pm
Sat.: 8:30 am – 4:00 pm
Sun.: 12pm – 10:00pm