Welcome
This guide is intended to help you do research in the field of Psychology. Please contact a Reference Librarian (508) 531-1394 or refdept@bridgew.edu if you need assistance.
Finding Books
Often books are an excellent source of information for certain topics in Communication Studies, a discipline that encompasses a variety of topics, ranging from the study of television and radio, to comic books, to effective communication and classic speeches, to the study of rhetoric. Try the library's online catalog to discover what books BSU owns.
American Psychological Association (APA) Style Guides
- APA Style ExamplesSample citations and bibliographic entries
- APA Style HelpInformation from the APA website
- Citing AIIf you are allowed to use Generative AI tools, please make sure that your are citing these sources.
How do I obtain an article if I have the citation?
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
You can enter the title of a journal article into GoogleScholar to find out if it is available in Maxwell Library, and get a direct link to it.
Online Resources
The first three databases on this list can be searched together.
You download the PDF version or see if the article is avalilable onlie. Print journals are located on the first floor of the library and are arranged alphabetically by title.
Use the "References" and "Times Cited Links" in a scholarly journal article or record to find more information about your topic
- Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 180,000 articles in more than 100 journals, including all American Psychological Association (APA) published scholarly journals. Updated weekly.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThe world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Includes nearly 4 million bibliographic records from more than 50 countries and indexing of more than 2,500 journals, 99% of which are peer-reviewed. Coverage dates back to the 17th and 18th centuries, with extensive coverage from the 1800s to the present. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA) and updated weekly.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 500 journals, covering a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences, and related disciplines. Subjects include anthropology, emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental processes, observational and experimental methods, and psychiatry and psychology.
- Psychology Collection This link opens in a new windowIncludes 4.1 million articles supporting research in all fields of psychology - abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social, and all areas of applied psychology.
Subject Guide
Clement C. Maxwell Library
(508) 531-2893
Library Hours
Mon - Thur.: 7:30 am – 11:00 pm
Fri.: 7:30 am – 5:00 pm
Sat.: 8:30 am – 4:00 pm
Sun.: 12pm – 10:00pm
Additional Help
- Basic EBSCOhost TutorialTutorial for using EBSCO Databases
- Ask a LibrarianSend us your question!