MaxGuides: SCWK 250 Introduction to Social Welfare: Home

Welcome

This guide is an introduction to some of the library resources available for research in Social Welfare. If you have trouble finding what you are looking for please feel free to contact the reference department at (508) 531-1394 if you need assistance.

Maxwell Library Home Page

Selected Web Resources

Free web-based resources

National Public Radio
NASW Code of Ethics
You will need this for your third assignment

Find Books

Online Databases

To assist in finding journal and periodical articles - these databases may require BSU login.

Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
This database can be searched by profession. To find biographies of social workers click "occupation" (above the search box) and type "social worker".
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field. Four simultaneous users maximum.
Diversity Studies Collection [Gale] This link opens in a new window
More than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily, exploring cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 850,000 records and open access full-text for nearly 13,000 records. Subjects include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Includes nearly 4 million bibliographic records from more than 50 countries and indexing of more than 2,500 journals, 99% of which are peer-reviewed. Coverage dates back to the 17th and 18th centuries, with extensive coverage from the 1800s to the present. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA) and updated weekly.

Find Newspapers

Nexis Uni (formerly: LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
This database contains the full text of numerous national and international newspapers.
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A variety of local newspapers from Massachusetts and Rhode Island, as well as the New York Times, and The Wall Street Journal.