Citation & APA Resources
- Citation Style GuidesBibliographic style guides
- APA Formatting & Style GuideFrom OWL by Purdue University
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Sixth Edition
Copies kept at Reference Desk, Circulation Desk, and Educational Resource Center
Selected Social Work Journals
Webster Search
Selected Print Reference Titles
These are available on the library's first floor in the Reference Section
- Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders : DSM-5 byCall Number: RC455.2.C4 D536 2013
- Research for social workers : an introduction to methods byCall Number: HV11 .A47 2003
- The Social Work Dictionary, 6th edition byCall Number: HV12 .B37 2014
- The counseling dictionary : concise definitions of frequently used terms byCall Number: BF637.C6 G5332 2006
- Mental health and mental disorders : an encyclopedia of conditions, treatments, and well-being byCall Number: RC437 .M47 2016
- Encyclopedia of Aging byCall Number: HQ1061 .E534
- Legal and ethical dictionary for mental health professionals byCall Number: KF3828 .A934 2003
Obtain Materials from Other Libraries
- Massachusetts Commonwealth CatalogLibrary users may use the Commonwealth Catalog to request books directly from participating Massachusetts libraries.
- Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery ServiceBSU faculty, librarians, administrators, students and staff may use Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery Services (ILL/DDS) to request materials not found in the Maxwell Library collections.
Search Social Work Related Databases
Subject Guide
Selected Databases
- SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive sociology research database. It contains full text for important sociology journals, books, and conference papers
- Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProduced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field. Coverage from 1965-
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and citations for articles in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowIncludes journals published by the American Psychological Association and from allied organizations.Dates of coverage: 1985-
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowCovers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods
- Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts: Volume I [Proquest] This link opens in a new windowContains more than 2,000 transcripts of actual therapy sessions together with major reference works. Materials include diaries, letters, autobiographies, oral histories, and personal memoirs along with full-text of the sessions.
Counseling Videos
- Counseling and Therapy in Video, Volume I [Proquest] This link opens in a new windowMore than 350 videos and 400 hours of training videos, reenactments, and footage of actual therapy sessions conducted by renowned psychiatrists, psychologists, and social workers.
Films on Demand - Streaming Video
Searchable database of video clips on almost any topic.
- Beyond ScienceFeatured video from the database