Skip to main content
Today's Hours:  

Special Education: Home

General (Circulating) Books

Try keyword and title searches on the following words and phrases:

  • Children with disabilities
  • Children with social disabilities
  • Cognitive psychology
  • Inclusive education
  • Language disorders
  • Learning disabilities
  • Mainstreaming
  • Psycholinguistics
  • Special education
  • Speech disorders
  • etc.
  • Tip:  Use quotation marks around phrases in keyword searches

Search Library Catalog:

Advanced Search

Note:  Circulating books on special education and communication disorders can be found in the General Collection of the Educational Resource Center, as well as in the General Collection of Maxwell Library.

For more information on finding books, see "Find Books" on the main education guide.

Reference Sources

Print

Find special education encyclopedias and handbooks in the ERC Reference collection (print collection) by using the search box below

Try keyword and subject searches on the following and other words and phrases:

  • special education
  • disabilities (or students with disabilities or children with disabilities or learning disabilities)
  • speech disorders
  • language disorders
  • rehabilitation
  • motor ability
  • assistive computer technology
  • etc.
  • Tip:  use quotation marks around phrases in keyword searches

Search the ERC Reference Collection:

Advanced Search

Periodical Databases

Use the databases to find periodical articles and other literature.

List of education, psychology, and related periodical databases. 

Some databases, such as PsychInfo and PsychArticles, permit you to limit a search to specific populations and age groups.

Selected Periodicals

Note: Use the library's A to Z Journal List to find out which periodicals Maxwell Library subscribes to. The A to Z Journal List will also tell you which databases contain the full-text for the journals you are interested in.

In some cases, some periodicals are only indexed and abstracted in the databases; the full-text is not available. When that is the case, you can use Interlibrary Loan to obtain articles you need.

The links below will bring you to only one database of potentially many that cover the periodical in question.

Tests and Measures

To locate psychological and educational tests and measures, see the Tests and Measures guide.