Selected Databases
- Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic Edition [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Full-text, indexed and abstracted biomedical research journals covering a broad range of disciplines, including medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. More than 80 full-text journals. Includes peer-reviewed content and author-supplied abstracts.
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to 200 leading journals in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
- ERIC (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts to journal articles as well as "grey literature" (pamphlets, conference proceedings, privately published papers) in the field of education. Via E*Subscribe, the full text of selected ERIC documents may be retrieved.
Dates of coverage: 1966- - Health and Medicine This link opens in a new windowCreated specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals. Includes more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
- Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 300 journals and 260 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracting from 830 journals. Provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Search for Journals A to Z
Evidence Based Searching
Steps to Research
- Formulate the PICO Question
- Identify Keywords
- Plan the Search (synonyms, Boolean operators and/or/not)
- Conduct the Search
- Refine/tweak/change (years, evidence)
- Review the Literature
- Assess the Evidence
MESH
MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) are exact subject headings used in Pubmed and MedLine database. The exact MeSH term focuses your search and produces fewer results. They are designed to help find better results in a comprehensive search.
More databases
- Nursing and Allied Health Collection This link opens in a new windowMore than 10 million articles, including full-text titles cited in CINAHL supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Includes nearly 4 million bibliographic records from more than 50 countries and indexing of more than 2,500 journals, 99% of which are peer-reviewed. Coverage dates back to the 17th and 18th centuries, with extensive coverage from the 1800s to the present. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA) and updated weekly.
- ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new windowProvides access to thousands of journals relating to research and advances in science happening around the globe. Maxwell Library has access to the following collection: Health & Life Sciences Journals.
- SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 650 journals and magazines, including more than 620 peer-reviewed journals and 320 non-embargoed journals. Covers a broad range of studies, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies, and social work. Abstracts date back to 1895.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
More than 660 full-text journals, with coverage dating back to 1930. Includes abstracts for nearly 970 journals, and more than 3,800 detailed records for sports-related videos. Subjects include clinical specialties such as orthopedics, coaching and education, consumer health, exercise science and fitness, health education, nutrition, physical education, and physical therapy.
***Limited to four maximum users at a time.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Over 26 million references to journal articles in life sciences with concentration in biomedicine and citations from over 6,700 worldwide journals in 60 languages. Coverage dates back to 1809.
- Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection This link opens in a new windowNearly 100 academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowThis free database comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
