Dipti Mehta, Research & Instruction Librarian
Contacting Librarians Virtually
Additional Help
- Citing SourcesThis guide assists you in citing sources in different formats such as APA, MLA, CHICAGO, etc.
- Research ConsuiltationFill this form and consult with a librarian one on one if you are having trouble finding sources on your topic, through Zoom or in-person.
- Understanding PlagiarismThis guide has tips on how to avoid plagiarism and inludes BSU's Academic integrity Policy.
Finding Books
Your best bet for finding books related to Film Studies in through the library's Online Catalog (search box above). Books related to Film Studies can be found in a number of locations in the library; therefore, use the catalog to locate the call letters.
For Browsing, use the call letters beginning PN1993 through PN1998, both on the third floor - general collection - and in Reference - first floor.
Finding Articles-Use these Online/Subscription Databases
- Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowIncorporates the content of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. More than 440 full-text journals, cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 670 journals, and 5,500 author profiles.
- Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new windowIncludes approximately 440 journals covering topics in gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowSearch the full text of The New York Times starting in 1985.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowMaxwell Library has access to more than 3,500 journal titles across the following five collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, and Ecology and Botany I. Subject coverage includes mathematics, philosophy, anthropology, economics, history, literature, population studies, sociology, music, art, law, education, business, botany, and ecology.
Database tutorials- Assist you with Research
- Academic Search Premier- Ebscohost Advanced Searching TutorialRemember that you can not type "phrases," or "questions," in the search box. You have to use keywords and refine your topic using limiters within the database.
- Academic Search Premier Database Searching with KeywordsThis tutorial from Mohave Community College helps you with defining a research question and pulling key concepts to search within the database.
- Citing ArticlesThis video tutorial will assist you in accessing different citation formats but you will need to check the Citation Bibliographic entries on this page https://library.bridgew.edu/research/citations
to check that you are citing appropriately. - Gale Topic Finder VideoThe Gender Studies Collection database is a Gale database. This video can help you learn how to use the Gale database to expand and narrow your topic, to brainstorm keywords, and to find articles.
Finding Film Reviews
ACCESSING NEW YORK TIMES
EXISTING registered subscribers that DO NOT HAVE ACTIVE NYT subscription can visit accessnyt.com , type in the name of the school and follow the instructions based on their location. Since the subscriber "Already has an account " they click “Log In" (Found below "Create an Account"). Input your BSU email address and the same “Password” created for their previous account. If the subscriber encounters an error message that subscriber can email with edu@nytimes.com.
Another link to use is: nytimes.com/spotlight/nytimesineducation.
-
Woody Allen’s Muted Milestone with “Coup de Chance”This link opens in a new windowApr 5, 2024
-
Directing ‘Monkey Man,’ Dev Patel Makes Himself an Action HeroThis link opens in a new windowApr 5, 2024
-
A ‘Taxi Driver’ Remake: Why Arthur Jafa Recast the Scorsese EndingThis link opens in a new windowApr 8, 2024
-
Making Films About Outsiders, Increasingly in the MainstreamThis link opens in a new windowApr 5, 2024
Resources for Statistics
- Pew Research CenterPew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
- Geena Davis Institute on Gender in MediaSince 2004, the Institute founded by Two-Time Academy Award Winning Actor Geena Davis, has worked to mitigate unconscious bias while creating equality, fostering inclusion and reducing negative stereotyping in entertainment and media. As one of the top global research-based organizations, the Institute provides research, direct guidance and thought leadership aimed at increasing representation of marginalized groups within six identities: gender, race/ethnicity, LGBTQIA+, disability, age, and body type. Because of its unique history and position, the Institute can help achieve true onscreen equity in a way that few organizations can.
How to do Research?
- Cornell Research Minutes: How to Identify Scholarly Journal ArticlesThis video will assist you with understanding Scholarly articles from Popular articles.
- EBSCOhost Research Database TutorialsOn this page you will find tutorials to help you learn about the key features of EBSCO's many research interfaces and databases, including EBSCOhost and EBSCO Discovery Service, helping you get the most from your research.
- Quick Tips and Tricks to Searching DatabasesFrom Modern Librarian Memoirs- This video can help you search academic research databases more effectively. It discusses advanced searches, limiters, Boolean operators, citing from databases, and more.