Journals A-Z List
Access the A-Z list of Maxwell Library's electronic and print journals:
IS YOUR SOURCE CRAAP?
- CRAAP Test The CRAAP Test method helps you identify a credible source and also helps you evaluate sources to determine whether or not they are appropriate for your academic assignment.
Online Databases
- Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- Anthropological Index Online This link opens in a new windowCitations to more than 800 international journals, published in more than 40 languages, in all areas of anthropology and archaeology held by the Anthropology Library at the British Museum (Museum of Mankind). Records cover 1957 to the present.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowNearly 3.5 million full text articles in 835 reference books from 108 publishers. Includes encyclopedias, atlases, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and subject-specific works.
- ERIC (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowAbstracts to journal articles as well as "grey literature" (pamphlets, conference proceedings, privately published papers) in the field of education. Via E*Subscribe, the full text of selected ERIC documents may be retrieved.
Dates of coverage: 1966- - Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowAcademic Onefile contains articles from 8,000 academic journals, the majority in full-text; hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC; and full-text New York Times content to 1995.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA full-image collection of retrospective issues from scholarly journals of prime importance in their fields. Subject coverage includes mathematics, philosophy, anthropology, Asian studies, economics, history, literature, population studies, and sociology (from the Arts & Sciences I Collection) and botany and ecology (from the Ecology & Botany Collection).
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new windowCovers today's hottest social issues, offering differing views to help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowA set of approximately 40 electronic journals from Johns Hopkins University Press, predominantly in the humanities.
- SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 650 journals and magazines, including more than 620 peer-reviewed journals and 320 non-embargoed journals. Covers a broad range of studies, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies, and social work. Abstracts date back to 1895.
Critical Thinking Skills
Video - Evaluating Sources for Credibility
Fact Check
Fact checking sources with good reputations include:
Snopes.com - The Urban Legends Reference Page. Site authors research rumors and include citations and references.
Politifact.com - A Pulitzer Prize-winning site that researches and rates political statements and claims. Rating scale goes from True to Half-True to Pants on Fire!
FactCheck.org - A Project of the Annenberg Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania also see SciCheck which specifically fact checks scientific claims
Washington Post Fact Checker - Rates claims from true (A Geppetto Checkmark) to "Whopper" (4 Pinocchios)
AP Fact Check - From the Associated Press
Government 10-K USA Facts - Data from federal, state, and local governments
Open Secrets - From the Center for Responsive Politics
Be especially wary of anything claiming to provide the "truth" or "just the facts".
True facts and statistics can be manipulated in a number of ways in order to tell a certain story. Many people have fallen for the DiHydrogen Monoxide petition - requesting that water be banned!