- OpenGeoSciOpenGeoSci is a public map-based discovery interface that provides easy access to maps, charts, tables, figures, and images in earth science research materials.
National Geologic Map Database
- National Geologic Map DatabaseThe National Geologic Map Database (from USGS) is a resource for maps and related data about: geology, hazards, earth resources, geophysics, geochemistry, geochronology, paleontology, and marine geology.
AtoZ Maps Online
- A to Z Maps Online This link opens in a new windowThe world's largest subscription-based database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection every month.
The National Map
- The National MapThe National Map is a collaborative effort among the USGS and other Federal, State, and local partners to improve and deliver topographic information for the Nation. It has many uses ranging from recreation to scientific analysis to emergency response. The National Map is easily accessible for display on the Web, as products and services, and as downloadable data. The geographic information available from The National Map includes orthoimagery (aerial photographs), elevation, geographic names, hydrography, boundaries, transportation, structures, and land cover.
- Historical Topographic Map CollectionThe Historical Topographic Map Collection features more than 161,000 digitally scanned historical maps spanning over 130 years and covering the lower 48 states. These free legacy maps track the changes over time in the Nation's topography, geography, and development.
Atlas of Historical County Boundaries
- Atlas of Historical County BoundariesDeveloped by the William M. Scholl Center for American History and Culture at the Newberry Library in Chicago, the Atlas of Historical County Boundaries is a powerful historical research and reference tool in electronic form. The Atlas presents in maps and text complete data about the creation and all subsequent changes (dated to the day) in the size, shape, and location of every county in the fifty United States and the District of Columbia. The principal sources for these data are the most authoritative available: the session laws of the colonies, territories, and states that created and changed the counties. Users can access the content online through the interactive maps and can download the shapefiles for use with GIS software.
- GeoPlatform.govThe GeoPlatform provides shared and trusted geospatial data, services, and applications for use by the public and by government agencies and partners to meet their mission needs. Through the GeoPlatform, users have access to
* A one-stop shop to deliver trusted, nationally consistent data and services
* Authoritative data to support informed decision making
* A shared infrastructure to host data and applications
* A national and Federal focal point where governmental, academic, private, and public data and applications can be visualized together to inform and address national and regional issues
USGS Historical Topographic Map Explorer
- USGS Historical Topographic Map ExplorerDownloadable topographic maps created between 1884 and 2006.