Reference Books
Reference books are located on the first floor of the library. Although they do not circulate, they do provide information on an author and/or citations of where to find information on an author and his or her specific works.
Particularly helpful are:
- Critical Survey of Drama byCall Number: PN1625 .C68 2003
- Critical Survey of Long Fiction byCall Number: PN3451 .C75 2010
- Critical Survey of Poetry byCall Number: PN1021 .C7 2003
- Critical Survey of Short Fiction byCall Number: PN3321 .C7 2012
- Critical survey of short fiction byCall Number: PN3451 .C7
- A dictionary of literary terms and literary theory byCall Number: PN41 .C83 1998
Search the Library Catalog
Maxwell Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System. To locate your book in the General Collection look at the first letter of the call number. If it begins with the letter A-L, it will be on the second floor. If it starts with the letters M-Z, it will be on the third floor. Reference Books and periodicals are located on the first floor and may not be checked out.
Finding E-Reference Books
Maxwell Library provides access to thousands of e-books, which can be located in a general MaxSearch as well as through specific databases, such as the following:
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowFull-text content from more than 260 reference titles with nearly 3 million entries covering every major subject.
- DOAB - Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new windowDirectory of nearly 9,000 free, open access, peer-reviewed academic books and chapters from 224 publishers.
- eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSearchable full text for several thousand e-books on a variety of subjects.
