Selected Reference Books
Reference books are located on the first floor of Maxwell Library.
- A-Z of Public Health byCall Number: Reference RA423 .L39 2015ISBN: 9781137426161Publication Date: 2014
- The Gale Encyclopedia of DietsCall Number: Reference RA784 .G345 2008
- Health Care Policy and Politics A to ZCall Number: RA395.A3 R685
- The Right to Die byCall Number: Reference R726 .B255 2017Publication Date: 2017
- Vaccination and Its Critics byCall Number: Reference RA638 .R68 2017
Selected Videos & DVDs
These are available the the Maxwell Library circulation desk
- Health for SaleCall Number: DVD HD9665.5 .H43 2007
- Nutrition and Eating DisordersAvailable to stream online
Searching the Collection (Online catalog) Tips
Some suggested call numbers:
- HV Social and Public Health
- RA Public Health
- RC Internal Medicine
Some suggested subjects (do a SUBJECT search for these, rather than a keyword search):
- Public Health
- Community Health Services
- Communicable Diseases
- Health Planning
- Health Promotion
- Life Skills
- School Hygiene
- Women's Health Services
Locating Items in Maxwell Library
- Reference materials and audio CDs can be found on the 1st floor of Maxwell Library.
- Books in the A-L call number ranges are located on the 2nd floor of Maxwell Library.
- Books in the M-Z call number ranges are located on the 3rd floor of Maxwell Library.
- DVDs are located at the circulation desk. Ask a staff member for assistance.
How to Obtain Books from Other Libraries
- Commonwealth Catalog and Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery ServicesBSU faculty, librarians, administrators, students and staff may use Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery Services (ILL/DDS) to request materials not found in the Maxwell Library Collection.
Library users may use the Commonwealth Catalog to request books directly from participating Massachusetts libraries.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProviding access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles. Credo Reference contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, etc.
- eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSearchable collection of e-books and electronic content
- Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowA database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Salem Health This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand - Streaming Video
Try searching "health" or "consumer sciences."