Selected Books
Reference books are located on the first floor of Maxwell Library.
101 Careers in Mathematics by Publication Date: 2014
A Guide to Study Skills and Careers in Criminal Justice and Public Security by Call Number: General Collection HV9950 .S3533 2017Publication Date: 2016
Films on Demand - Streaming Video
Try searching "careers" or "jobs."
Search the Library Catalog
Steps to Finding Books
- Search Maxwell Library's catalog. If we don't own the book you want, then:
- Search the Massachusetts Commonwealth Catalog. If the book you want is in the catalog request it and have it sent to Maxwell Library. If the ComCat doesn't have the book you want:
- Request the book through Interlibrary Loan.
- You can also search for books in Google Books or WorldCat. If you identify titles in either one that you're interested in, you can then obtain them using steps 1-3.
- Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery ServiceBSU faculty, librarians, administrators, students and staff may use Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery Services (ILL/DDS) to request materials not found in the Maxwell Library collections.
Searching the Collection (Online catalog) Tips
Some suggested call numbers:
- HB-HT: Occupations
- HD 5742-HF 5549.5: Employees
- HF5383: Resumes
- HF 5381: Vocational Guidance
Some suggested subjects (do a SUBJECT search for these, rather than a keyword search):
- Employees--training of
- Occupations
- Professions
- Resumes (employment)
- Vocational Guidance
Locating Items in Maxwell Library
- Reference materials and audio CDs can be found on the 1st floor of Maxwell Library.
- Books in the A-L call number ranges are located on the 2nd floor of Maxwell Library.
- Books in the M-Z call number ranges are located on the 3rd floor of Maxwell Library.
- DVDs are located on the first floor of the library near reference.
How to Obtain Books from Other Libraries
- Commonwealth Catalog and Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery ServicesBSU faculty, librarians, administrators, students and staff may use Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery Services (ILL/DDS) to request materials not found in the Maxwell Library Collection.
Library users may use the Commonwealth Catalog to request books directly from participating Massachusetts libraries.
E-books
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo is an online reference library, providing access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles. Credo Reference contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopaedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range or subject-specific titles.
- eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSearchable collection of e-books and electronic content
- Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Our collection includes 23 reference titles.
Dates of coverage: Varies by title.
